Skip to content

Wine Night!

May 22, 2011

Happy Anniversary to my parents!

I think it’s 29 this year?

They celebrated last night by going to the Opera, while I spent the evening with my good friend Sam (who refuses to be pictured.) Sam and I were extremely close in high school but I haven’t seen him in forever. When I suggested grabbing a drink he was all for it!

Before leaving, I made myself a simple and delicious dinner of lentils, spinach, tomato, and salsa in a whole wheat pita.

I ate it right before my first Health History which went very well. Having all of you bloggers/blog readers volunteer to help me is a huge blessing because you are already interested in your health and don’t have any problem talking about it. It makes it so much easier.

******

Ooh and I tried curling my new short hair! What do you think?

I think it’s alright, but I think I like it straight best.

***********

A Luna Bar on the way to meet Sam served as a sweet dessert. We started the evening in the Central West End area of St. Louis. The beautiful 75 degree weather meant all the restaurants were hoppin!

Sam suggested Brennan’s, a small cigar and wine bar, that I’d never been too. It had a really neat old-school atmosphere.

I enjoyed a glass of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc while Sam and I bantered non stop. We can argue, debate, and discuss anything and everything. He’s really good at purposely disagreeing with me just so I get worked up and the conversation keeps going:)

When we finished our drinks, Sam suggested we move downtown closer to where he lives. He has a favorite place called Bridge he thought I’d like. We sat right outside again and I enjoyed two more glasses of wine. I’d actually never heard of either of the whites I tried, but was feeling adventurous and loved them both. Wish I remembered their names!

Thankfully our water glasses got refilled often, so when I finally got home around 12:45am I was feeling A-Okay. I limited myself to a chocolate chip cookie dough Lara Bar as a night time snack — I had to stop myself from raiding the kitchen! I knew that I’d be up in a few hours and wanted to be hungry for breakfast so I just went straight upstairs and to bed. I hate feeling at all hungry when I go to sleep but I knew it was best:)

************

I woke up very happy with my restraint because at 8am this morning I was ready for pancakes!! I can never really find a perfectly fluffy but healthy pancake recipe and think I need to just buy some Kodiak mix. Since I don’t have any yet, I made a variation of the Fitnessista’s Perfect Protein Pancake. The batter ended up too wet so I had to add more flour, and I wound up with giant pancakes!

Oh and that grilled banana? Last minute decision. Very happy about this. I mushed the up with some maple syrup on top of the pancakes and they provide necessary moistness (sorry if you hate that word!) to what were somewhat dry pancakes.

I quelled my dry throat with a juicy orange after breakfast, and now I’m being lazy on the couch. I see lots of Say Yes To The Dress and some blog work before I go see Bridesmaids at 1pm! Can’t Wait!!

QUESTION:

  • What’s your favorite type of wine?

I tend to like dry-er whites. Nothing too sweet!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 10:22 am

    I’m going to see Bridesmaids at 1:30! Haha. I am really excited too. šŸ™‚ My favorite wines are usually fruity. I definitely prefer red over white.

  2. May 22, 2011 10:34 am

    I like pink sparkling wine…but I am a nightmare with wine and usually suffer the most hideous day long hangovers after so I try to stay away from it šŸ˜›

  3. May 22, 2011 10:43 am

    I’m with you on white wine but I actually prefer something sweet. I think your hair and those pancakes look great! Grilled bananas are the best!

  4. May 22, 2011 11:03 am

    You will love Bridesmaids….it was so incredibly funny! I barely stopped laughing throughout the whole movie, and at times, I was laughing so hard, I was crying! Enjoy šŸ™‚

  5. Abby permalink
    May 22, 2011 11:11 am

    Aww Happy Anniversary to your parents! Your hair looks really cute curled! Thanks for the apology of that word! lol I kid. šŸ˜‰ I prefer sweeter white wines. I went to Bridesmaids last night and I actually had a sore throat by the end of it from laughing so much! It is hilarious! šŸ™‚ Happy Sunday Clare!

  6. May 22, 2011 11:25 am

    I love Anything red really…but Cab Sav is my favorite and I love Cupcake!

  7. sara @ the foodie diaries permalink
    May 22, 2011 1:52 pm

    Okay, your day sounds like my ideal day. You have Say Yes To The Dress, blogging, and Bridesmaids… what could be better?!? šŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy the movie! I liked it, but my favorite part was the airplane scene. You’ll see what I mean… šŸ™‚

  8. May 22, 2011 1:55 pm

    Bridesmaids was sooooooo good. I saw it last weekend. You’ll love it! šŸ™‚

  9. May 22, 2011 2:54 pm

    Oh tell me how Bridesmaids was! I’ve reallllly been wanting to see it!

  10. squigglefloey permalink
    May 22, 2011 3:48 pm

    Tell me how Bridesmaids is! I personally prefer your hair straightened. It’s hard to tell that your hair’s curled! Although your smile and beautiful face look amazing either way šŸ™‚

  11. molly permalink
    May 22, 2011 4:00 pm

    the new hair looks gorgeous clare! love it

  12. May 22, 2011 4:17 pm

    omg love the pancake! im not a wine fan AT ALL.. for real… i prefer it over beer but nahh.. i prefer cocktails ahah .. much more tasty!
    i love ur hair! but i think i prefer it straight too!

  13. May 22, 2011 4:48 pm

    I like white wine as well, but I tend to go for the sweeter ones kinds
    Your hair looks cute curly too, a nice change! It does look lovely straight too šŸ™‚

  14. May 22, 2011 8:06 pm

    I’m still too young to drink wine so I can’t chime in my opinion. I actually really like your hair like that. But umm, you have perfect hair so you could wear it anyway and it would look great! And your eyeliner looks great, Idk if you did it different or something but your eyes really pop!

  15. Danielle N permalink
    May 23, 2011 9:13 am

    1. the pita and pancakes & bananas look delicious & just made me super hungry for lunch
    2. I think your hair is really cute curled!
    3. LOVE Say Yes to the Dress! I always make my boyfriend watch it with me, haha
    4. sweet white wine is my favorite, or something fruity like blackberry wine, but in reality I’ll drink any wine that’s in my glass šŸ™‚

  16. May 23, 2011 10:15 am

    We love Brennan’s! I haven’t been in over a year though…need to change that! šŸ™‚ Bridge sounds good too!

  17. May 23, 2011 9:21 pm

    Your pita looks delicious and your hair is super cute!

  18. May 24, 2011 11:45 am

    You really could be a super model! You look nice with curly hair
    happy anniversary to the folks, I am sure you are a joy of a daughter to have around
    Nothing beats wine

    cheers

Leave a Reply

