Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: First Date Dress Code

May 23, 2011

Another request for Monday Man-Day was what girls should wear on a first date. What do guys really like to see us in? Do you go understated or try to wear your most stylish get up? Seriously we have the hardest lives.

There are tons of factors that go into the first date outfit decision. Are you going to a casual or a nice restaurant? Are you seeing a movie? Will you be walking much? Are you really interested in this guy? What do you think he’d like to see? So here are some common options:

1. The Girl Next Door

Jeans and a cute top is hard to mess up. It’s generally what I would wear on a first date because I’ve never gone anywhere too fancy. I feel most comfortable in this type of outfit and it’s pretty reflective of my normal style.

source

2. The Sundress

Guys love Sundresses. At Notre Dame guys just begged for spring to come to girls would start wearing dresses again. If you’re going somewhere relaxed and fun (and warm!) this is a great option I think.

source

3. The Trendy

If you’re into fashion, wearing your favorite new outfit could make you feel confident and sexy. It’s a risk though because guys don’t always “get” the trends.

source

4. The Fancy Schmancy

Going out to a nice dinner or swanky club? You could show in dressed to the nines and ready for a night on the town. The risk here is going overboard and having the guy maybe think you’re high maintenance or showing too much for a first date. Alternatively, he could be a huge fan of the amount you’re showing:)

source

QUESTIONS:

  • What do you normally wear on a first date?
  • Guys – What is your favorite thing to see us in? Anything to avoid at all costs?



15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 2:15 pm

    I’m definitely a jeans girl, but if it’s nice a sundress would work, too!

  2. May 23, 2011 2:16 pm

    Stuck with a cute top, jeans, and heels for my last first date – I guess it was a good choice because we’re engaged now! I’m sure he has no idea what I wore. 😉

  3. May 23, 2011 2:24 pm

    WHAT IS IT WITH GUYS AND SUNDRESSES?!?!?! I don’t even know what classifies as a sundress- I usually picture something DJ Tanner would wear – and where did they even learn that term?

  4. May 23, 2011 2:59 pm

    I usually wear a skirt and a cute top for a first date but my bf adores the sundress so I try to wear them often lol Rompers are great too, love them 🙂

  5. May 23, 2011 3:15 pm

    I go with jeans and a cute top. My roommate helped me choose an outfit for a date a few months ago and she pulled a giraffe print tunic out of my closet–it was my Halloween costume from last year! The giraffe tail was still attached and my giraffe ears were pinned on it too!

  6. May 23, 2011 3:16 pm

    It’s been years since I went on a first date, but I always feel most comfortable in jeans and a cute top, or a sundress. If I’m comfortable, I’m able to be confident – and I think that’s what’s really attractive 🙂

  7. May 23, 2011 3:18 pm

    I’ve never been on a real “first date,” but if it was warm enough I’d definitely go the sundress route. They’re my favorite!!

  8. Abby permalink
    May 23, 2011 3:39 pm

    I’m definitely a jeans with a cute top or sundress girl! 🙂

  9. May 23, 2011 4:11 pm

    I agree with you Clare, the “girl next door look” is my favorite for a first date. It does depend on where we are going of course, but most first dates I have been on (not that there have been a lot haha) have involved going to a casual restaurant, bowling, hiking, movies, and things like that, that are not all fancy shmancy.

  10. May 23, 2011 4:44 pm

    I think it depends on where you live. I’m from Oklahoma, so blue jeans and easy stuff was always acceptable. But now that I’ve been in DC for five, almost six years, I realized that the women really step up their game. Whatever she wears, she has to OWN it, and let her authenticity in her selection shine.

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    May 23, 2011 5:39 pm

    Jeans and a cute top for me 🙂

  12. May 23, 2011 6:14 pm

    I’m not even brave enough to wear a romper when I’m not on a first date! I would think jeans and a cute top would be the safest bet.

  13. May 23, 2011 7:44 pm

    My first date with John I actually ran out after work and bought a new skirt! I remember I kept it casual and classy- black cotton pencil skirt, flowly black cotton top and heels.

    I think casual and classy is best! In my dating days my go to was dark denim, high heeled boots and a romantic top!

  14. May 23, 2011 9:48 pm

    Hey, some guys like a high maintenance girl! Wayyyyy back when I was dating, I would usually do the jeans and a top thing. But I never looked smokin hot like Teh Alba.

  15. May 25, 2011 12:12 am

    white tee and jeans is what i always read in magazines is guys top pick for a girls outfit and my husband definitely agrees… any fitted tee and jeans actually.

    that’s funny to me about the sundresses cause none of the guys i know care about dresses. my husband thinks i’m “dressing up” every time i put a dress on. i can’t make him understand that some dresses are casual and some are dressy!

Leave a Reply

