Skip to content

The REAL Real World

May 23, 2011

Yesterday the Notre Dame class of 2011 graduated.

Yesterday a younger group of people officially entered the work force.

I can no longer say “I just graduated”. I can no longer claim that I was “just in college”. My ties to the good old days are slipping farther and farther away.

Now I have to really be in the real world. I’m one of the people who can give advice to the new kids instead of only receiving it. I’m supposed to be acclimated to working life and know how to keep everything running smoothly. Over the past year, I’m supposed to have figured it out.

In some ways I do feel comfortable in my post-student life. I have a schedule. I’ve dealt with the stresses of changing friendships and relationships, asking for vacation days, and how the heck to do everything you want to and still find time to sleep at night. But in other ways I’m still that lost graduate trying to figure out my life. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do and how to turn my passions into a career. I don’t know where I want to end up permanently and I still am not used to not having a spring break.

I know I don’t have to know everything when I’m only 23. I’ll get there. I just can’t claim to be the most confused anymore. It’s a strange feeling.

***************************

Now that I’ve got the serious out of my system we can talk about Monday! I actually didn’t workout this morning because I ended up babysitting until midnight. I knew starting the week rested was more important that a gym sesh, but I’m going to try to squeeze something in this afternoon.

Also check out what I caught the little boy doing last night…

Amazing. I wasn’t even mad.

OUTFIT:

Shirt: Forever 21, Sweater: Old Navy, Skirt: LOFT, Flats: Bakers

 

BREAKFAST:

I went all of last week without a breakfast cookie so it was time to bring it back. I sprinkled cinnamon on it before the peanut flour sauce and it formed a cute little cinnamon ring:)

Off to work!

**Please keep the families of Joplin, MO in your prayers as the town was devastated by a tornado yesterday**

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 10:02 am

    Please girl.. I graduated in 2008 and I still stay I JUST graduated. I probably will for years 😉

  2. May 23, 2011 10:09 am

    The 8th was my “one year” mark of being a wise graduate and it was alarming! How the hell did one year go by so quickly?! I was okay being a little lost because I “just graduated” but now it’s been a year. Shouldn’t I have a big-time, high-paying job by now?! Sike. Hey, grad school. Glad to know someone else is on the same(ish) page as me!

  3. May 23, 2011 10:36 am

    Wow, I’ve never really thought about how long it’s been since I graduated (2007, though I student taught for a year, which was a nice transition into the real world)…but once I started teaching and had my own classroom, it was the real deal!
    Cute skirt!

  4. May 23, 2011 10:38 am

    The passing of time of a funny thing, isn’t it?? Love the ice cream shot.

  5. May 23, 2011 11:22 am

    I do the same thing too! In my head I say I just graduated and that was in 2007! Time flies

  6. May 23, 2011 11:45 am

    I graduated in 08 and it felt like a lifetime ago. Probably because SOO many other monumental things have occurred since then.

    Haha the pic is too cute! I saw your tweet on this last night and laughed.

  7. May 23, 2011 12:19 pm

    I still feel like I just graduated.. but it was back in 2009! Crazy how time flies…

  8. May 23, 2011 12:31 pm

    I graduated with my masters in 2000 & it STILL feels like yesterday! Look at all you young’uns 😉

    I love that ice cream shot. How could anyone be mad at that?

  9. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    May 23, 2011 12:43 pm

    that is such a weird feeling/realization.

    I just went to my sister’s college graduation last weekend and realized that nearly FOUR years had passed since mine. so crazy. time totally flies!

    that little boy is AWESOME 🙂

  10. May 23, 2011 1:17 pm

    Really great post! I’m so excited to graduate in December and at the same time having a total freakout over what comes next. I’m constantly anxious because I feel like my choices are so defining. I hope it always feels like I “just” graduated though haha

  11. May 23, 2011 1:38 pm

    I just graduated and I’m so scared for what’s ahead, but excited at the same time. I like to be in control, but for the first time in my life I’m not…I’ll figure it out, though. Just gotta have faith, right?

  12. May 23, 2011 1:50 pm

    hahaahh, such a sneaky little fella! the little boy I babysits does the same thing!!! lol

  13. Lauren permalink
    May 23, 2011 3:58 pm

    I love your skirt! Loft always has the best clothes for our age group–transitioning from college and casual to working style! Also, you definitely don’t have to have it all figured out. I took a year off between undergrad and grad school and it was an awesome decision (besides realizing I could have been done my masters 6 months ago). Isn’t it amazing to look back over a year and see how much has changed?!

  14. May 24, 2011 7:57 am

    I totally remember what it felt like to be a new graduate. It’s amazing how much different things are now that I have been graduated for well over ten years. Being a mentor to new (and newish) graduates is one of my absolute favorite things to do.

  15. May 24, 2011 11:43 am

    College life is where it is at!
    Did you get out a spoon and help with the ice cream? haha
    Sxy outfit!

    Cheers

Trackbacks

  1. The REAL Real World « Fitting It All In | Daily Reality Dose

Leave a Reply

