Skip to content

TJ’s Bento Box & Chicago Friends

May 23, 2011

I was seriously dragging this afternoon at work. A combo of too little sleep and a teeny bit of regular coffee this morning (which makes me crash later) meant my energy was nowhere to be found. With each passing minute the chances of me getting to the gym lessened, and I actually ended up putting on my workout clothes before work even ended just to hold myself accountable.

I drove there and decided I’d just take it easy with some elliptical. I ended up knocking out five miles in 50 minutes while reading a fitness magazine and felt great afterward! After some light ab work I headed home feeling rejuvinated. I never ever regret a work out!

DINNER:

Since I got home later than usual, I decided to stick to something quick and easy for dinner. I found this new Trader Joe’s product on my last shopping trip and having been saving it for a night like this.

This Bento Box is vegan and takes only 3 minutes in the microwave to cook. It contains:

  • Pumpkin with Shisho Seasoning
  • Spicy Long Beans
  • Eggplant with Miso Paste
  • Soba Salad with Oyster Mushroom
  • Shiitake Mushroom with Edamame and Carrot
  • Baked Tofu with Teriyaki Sauce
  • Brown Rice with Seaweed and Sesame Seed
  • Curry Flavored Brown Rice
  • Teriyaki Flavored Brown Rice

The actual food looked almost identical to the picture on the box which is always nice. I brought the box over to the couch with me (where I ate..oops) so I could read about what I was eating as I took each new bite.

Notes: The pumpkin wasn’t that great. The spicy beans were spicy! The eggplant was pretty good! I liked the soba noodles – they were sticky but fun to eat. The mushroom was really good but I was sad that there was only one. The tofu was nice and light. And all of the rices were delicious – not dry or crunchy. The teriyaki flavor was my favorite.

Overall, this was a fun meal to eat! It wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever eaten (and I’m no Bento Box connoisseur) , but a great choice if you’re craving a variety of Asian flavors. I’d buy it again!

Chicago Friends

I’m heading up to Chicago on Friday for a Booze Cruise on Lake Michigan. Saturday afternoon I’m heading to meet some friends in Indianapolis, but I’ll having the morning and early afternoon in Chi-town. Anybody want to go for a run or take me to a workout class to sweat out my hangover? Or want to meet for breakfast or lunch or coffee?

Let me know! I hope I can meet some of you!

Need to get some good sleep tonight. Later!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 8:10 pm

    Hey let me know what you end up doing for Saturday! Ill be around the city..my running is limited right now but let me know your plans and maybe we can meet up!

  2. May 23, 2011 8:15 pm

    i’ve never seen that tjs box before! but then again i’ve never looked for it. i bet deej would love it because she hearts a good variety in her meals haha

  3. May 23, 2011 8:34 pm

    That looks awesome! May have to make a special trip to TJ’s this week. Was it enough food to make you feel full though?

  4. May 23, 2011 8:51 pm

    I need to look for that box at TJ’s. Looks like a fun meal for when I have nothing in the fridge but leftover pizza. Yeah, like today. 😦

  5. May 23, 2011 9:38 pm

    I saw that box there the other day. I didn’t buy it for some reason. Was it expensive or high cal or something? I can’t remember. Any way, sounds like a good emergency meal to have on hand, so thanks for the review!

  6. May 24, 2011 6:13 am

    Ohhh my goodness, my excitement to get to TJ’s next month just increased tenfold!!! A vegan bento box?! Yes please!

  7. May 24, 2011 7:47 am

    I definitely did not see that on my last TJ’s trip! How cute!

  8. May 24, 2011 8:19 am

    We learned about Bento boxes in our Social and Cultural Foods class but I’ve never seen one before – looks interesting!

  9. May 24, 2011 11:40 am

    Damn workouts have a way of doing that.. Feeling better afterwards, those are the workouts a person appreciates. Glad you got to the gym.. Booze cruze.. Sounds like the perfect type of cruze!

    Cheers

  10. May 24, 2011 11:50 am

    That Bento box looks awesome! I’m going to have to try and find it at TJs next time I go! And yay for the Booze cruise! I just did one in SF on Sunday and had a blast! But dress warm- it gets cold out there! And of course, I had to buy gold boat shoes just for the occasion… 🙂

  11. May 24, 2011 2:47 pm

    You have to eat at the Bongo Room in Chicago!

Leave a Reply

