Skip to content

Too Close For Comfort

May 25, 2011

All day there were predictions of terrible storms this afternoon. We had the radio on at work and the weather man said that starting at 3pm things would start to get bad. It was getting hyped up so much that I was almost certain we would end up getting nothing but some droplets of rain.

But right on target, the pitter patters started at 3:03pm. It was a downpour within minutes and things weren’t looking too good. I checked the weather channel online, and saw that they had tweeted that a rotation had been spotted at 170 and Ladue.

Well that’s a little too close for comfort. Despite having floor to ceiling windows at my desk, we never saw rotation and never even heard sirens. By the time I read the tweet things had already cleared up, but my company emailed us saying we could leave if we felt we needed to. I was finished with my work for the day so I decided to go down to the basement gym and get in some light cardio.

As I was completing my 3 miles on the elliptical, people starting flooding in. Apparently the sirens were going off at this point and the gym was suggested as the place to go!

Yes it’s awkward to have half your company walk in while you’re sweating.

I ended up staying there with them for another half hour or so just sitting around on machines and watching reports of the nearly baseball sized hail we were getting.

Finally we all decided the tornado threat was over and we could brave the rain to make it home. I was pretty hungry by 6 so I made myself a quick and easy stir fry dinner. For two servings (lunch tomorrow), I prepared 1 cup of brown rice and tossed almost a full bag of TJ’s frozen stir fry mix into a pan with some olive oil. I also added in a cup of chickpeas for protein and my sauce of choice was an organic teriyaki sauce.

In about 10 minutes I had a warm and comforting meal to enjoy while the rain beat down outside.

I finished up dinner right before I had my second IIN Health History with a fellow blogger. It went well and it’s so nice to actually talk to the people I email/comment with all day!

Now the storms have moved east and I’m hanging out watching the American Idol finale. And eating bedtime snacks of a small sweet potato with cinnamon and a grapefruit.

  • Who do you want to win American Idol?

I haven’t followed that closely, but I did kind of like James Durbin before he got voted off. Scott doesn’t really do it for me even though I love country music. Either will be fine – but it’s one of those situations where I think it’s actually better not to win so you have more freedom with your career. I can’t believe how young the kids are this year!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 7:49 pm

    I totally agree about American Idol. All of the truly good ones were voted off already, so I don’t really care who wins. If I had to choose, I’d pick Scotty just because I like his personality. Lauren is a bit too immature and socially awkward. It makes me nervous to watch her!

  2. May 25, 2011 7:52 pm

    A lot of people got really bad storms. Luckily we didn’t but I am glad you are alright. I would have been freaking out

  3. May 25, 2011 7:55 pm

    When it was down to the final three, I wanted Hayley just because she was different. I’m not really too pumped about either of these two. I love country music so I’m going for Scotty because I think he’s going to do really well and I don’t think Lauren is quitttte there yet. I’m way more into The Voice now!

  4. May 25, 2011 8:00 pm

    Wow, that’s so scary! But I’m not sure what is more scary, the tornado warning or the fact of your entire company watching you workout. 🙂
    Glad you got home safe and sound! 🙂

  5. squigglefloey permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:20 pm

    My mom is SO into American Idol this season it’s funny. Is it over already or is the season finale tonight? I’ve actually never watched it before haha. Are those cashews in the stir fry? A few weeks ago my body decided it loves/wants cashews all the time. Darn things are $$!

  6. Michelle permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:33 pm

    I did the same exact thing! I went into my apartments workout facility in the basement to workout since I hadn’t yet today, and because the sirens were going off. After like 20 minutes on the elliptical about 10 people were in the TINY workout room and I felt like a tool so I had to end my workout and just sat and stretched until the storms passed. So awkward. Thank goodness nothing was damaged!

  7. Hannah permalink
    May 25, 2011 9:32 pm

    So, I’ve loved reading your blog because I too live in St. Louis (just graduated from WashU), but I had no idea you were so close! I live right in downtown Clayton! The storms today were definitely crazy, and I expected the hype to just fizzle out, so I kept doing my errands as normal and totally got stuck in the hail. Ugh. We’re supposed to have a sunny weekend though, about time!

  8. Abby permalink
    May 25, 2011 9:52 pm

    Ahh! That would be so scary!

  9. May 25, 2011 10:18 pm

    Glad to hear you all are safe! The storms have been terrible and I cannot imagine how scary it is to hear sirens going off! Eeeeek! Hope nicer weather is headed your way 🙂

  10. May 26, 2011 2:05 am

    here, because of the two that were in the finale, i didn’t even watch it, but the buzz all over is how Scotty and Lauren kissed after he won, and he kept saying “I love you baby”

    AI has a new cutie patootie country couple!!

  11. May 26, 2011 2:09 am

    Tornadoes freak me out! I still remember during elementary school, back when I lived in Ohio, we had tornado drills all the time. And we’d have to go to our stinky gym changing rooms and sit out the tornado warnings. Now that I live in NJ, tornadoes aren’t ever a problem!

    I’m glad that you got outta there safely 🙂

  12. May 26, 2011 4:30 am

    WOw that is crazy! There was a tornado around here last summer that ripped apart the city I teach in. I was in the town next door babysitting.. and the damage was done SUPER close to where I was. Definitely scary.and is sure makes you reflect on how fortunate you ar.e

  13. May 26, 2011 6:14 am

    SCARY! Glad you are ok, I used to live in Chicago and tornado warnings/watches always scared me . I dont deal with that in NJ anymore though.

  14. May 26, 2011 6:33 am

    It was nice actually TALKING to you too! Glad that tornado left you alone 🙂

  15. May 26, 2011 9:08 am

    Glad to hear you didn’t end up in Kansas… And you are safe! Must be freaky to have that happening around your area so often. I don’t think I have ever experienced a Toronado nor seen one…
    James should have won idol, I called Scotty to win after it got to the final 3… I didn’t watch it though

    cheers

  16. runningonapples permalink
    May 26, 2011 9:48 am

    That’s so scary- I’m glad you stayed safe!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and thought of you because I was in South Bend last weekend when my brother graduated from ND. It made me wish I went there too!
    Hopefully the weather improves

  17. thebeautynotebooks permalink
    May 26, 2011 9:56 am

    Glad you’re ok! My heart goes out to everyone in the country who have experienced tornadoes in the past week, especially Joplin.

Leave a Reply

