Skip to content

Mad Tomato

May 27, 2011

Last night I ate dinner at Mad Tomato Italian Kitchen in Clayton, MO. This brand new restaurant had its grand opening on May 10th and the philosophy is “Eat Fresh, Support Local, Provide for Others”. It’s not very big inside and the decor is a mix of modern and rustic with photos of the beautiful ingredients they use hanging on the walls.

I loved it before I even sat down.

I ate with a big group of girlfriends as well as some guys some of us run around with. One of the guys’ family owns the building that Mad Tomato is in, which meant the restaurant was extremely welcoming and accommodating throughout the night. They brought us one of almost every appetizer for free which was an awesome surprise. We got to try bruschetta, eggplant in olive oil, poached eggs in tomato sauce, and more. I loved it when they put the big meat platter in front of me:)

I did eat those veggies right at the front, but I didn’t fill up too much on appetizers because I had two pizzas coming! A fellow vegetarian and I decided to split the Margherita: Tomato Sauce + Mozzarella + Basil + Olive Oil and the Fungi: Wild mushrooms + Smoked Mozzarella
Garlic + Basil + Arugula + Grana.

This is what pizza should be. A light crispy crust, fresh ingredients tossed on, herbs picked straight from the stem, and olive oil drizzled on top.

I tried the Fungi pizza first and loved the chewy mushrooms against the bitter arugula and roasted garlic. The pizza wasn’t too cheesy and the flavors really came through.

Next up was the Margherita which totally stole my heart. The homemade tomato sauce was lightly sweet just like you find in southern Italy. The mozzerella was fresh and was layered on in the perfect amount. And the basil on top completed the perfection. INCREDIBLE!

I ended up going back for another slice of the Margherita because it was just that good! Everyone else enjoyed their dishes as well and ordered things ranging from rabbit pasta to lamb meatballs to classic lasagna. The menu was really unique and varied due to the focus on local ingredients.

I really enjoyed Mad Tomato and would definitely recommend it as a place for a fresh take on classic Italian food. I can’t wait to go back and a hoping to take my family there soon!

*********************************

I’m getting ready to head up to Chicago for Memorial Day and won’t be back until Monday. I’m not bringing my computer so there won’t be much from me this weekend. Enjoy your time off and the unnofficial start of summer!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 10:02 am

    Ahh everything you ate looks amazing. I am counting down thhe minutes until Imake my own pizza tonight! 🙂

  2. May 27, 2011 10:02 am

    Yum! Your pictures just sent me into the kitchen to start kneading an artisan crust! Sounds awesome!

  3. May 27, 2011 10:07 am

    too funny…I was JUST reading in STL relish about the new restaurants in STL…this being one of them. Awesome to get a review..we’ll have to try this soon!

    ps. you still need to try Katie’s Pizza in Clayton. nom!

  4. May 27, 2011 10:18 am

    So, thinking about it, I haven’t had pizza in a LONG time! That’s super sad, especially with how delicious the Fungi one looks! I think I’ll have to try my hand at another homemade one this week!

  5. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:40 am

    yum!

    have a great time in chitown 🙂

  6. May 27, 2011 10:48 am

    I love fresh pizza. Trying new places is so much fun with friends because you can each order different things and have an inexpensive tasting.

  7. May 27, 2011 11:09 am

    It’s always good to be friends with the right people! 🙂 All that food looks delicious! Have fun this weekend! 🙂

  8. May 27, 2011 11:12 am

    AHHHHHH I WNT PIZZA!

  9. May 27, 2011 11:33 am

    Those pizza pics just amped my craving for pizza 150%. Off to make one of my own that -sniff- won’t look or taste as good as those ones!

  10. sara @ the foodie diaries permalink
    May 27, 2011 11:35 am

    They WOULD put the meat plate right in front of you!! 😉 Have an amazing time in Chicago, can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back!!

  11. May 27, 2011 11:50 am

    Mmm I love Italian food! Have fun in Chicago this weekend 🙂

  12. May 27, 2011 3:09 pm

    Mmm the fungi sounds right up my alley! Yup, those thin pizzas look completely traditional, and while I really appreciate them, I usually want those giant New York pizzas when I have that craving. Sometimes there’s nothing better than biting down on a thicker crust 🙂

  13. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 27, 2011 3:19 pm

    MMMMM pizza!!

  14. May 27, 2011 3:39 pm

    I don’t think this is a bad idea but I do think there’s a better/less offensive way to phrase this.

    • May 27, 2011 5:42 pm

      (This is in response to a no longer existing comment – not to Claire 🙂 )

  15. May 27, 2011 3:47 pm

    Clare honey these are the strangest comments I’ve ever seen on someone’s blog. Block their IP address

  16. squigglefloey permalink
    May 27, 2011 3:53 pm

    Hahaha I lol’ed at the “as well as some of the guys we run around with”. I know you didn’t mean it like that, but still funnnnnayyy.
    Have a wonderful trip m’dear 🙂

  17. May 27, 2011 4:34 pm

    Wow. Baby girl, I am so sorry that commenter is totally attacking you for God knows what. I hate to throw names around, because I’m not like that, but anyone who comments mean remarks is a coward. I love you. You’re beautiful. And you don’t deserve that kind of treatment.

  18. May 27, 2011 4:36 pm

    Those look delicious. I want pizza…now.

  19. indecisiveathlete permalink
    May 27, 2011 4:41 pm

    That place sounds so awesome. I wish there was a place near me that did local food in that way. and the pizzas look delicious mushrooms on pizza are one of my fav toppings for sure. Hope you have a great time in Chicago!

  20. May 27, 2011 5:05 pm

    There are few things in this world that are better than a well done Margherita pizza. That mushroom one looks just as good though! You’re a lucky girl for getting to try both 🙂

    P.S. I’m not really sure what was going on but it sounds like someone was trying to crush your day 😦 Don’t let them, you are fabulous and I *love* reading your posts!

  21. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    May 27, 2011 5:18 pm

    Have a great trip!

  22. May 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    That pizza looks incredible!! 😀

  23. May 27, 2011 7:11 pm

    have fun in chi-town lady! i lurv it there!! the marhgarita pizza looks amazing!!

  24. May 27, 2011 7:43 pm

    Girl, that pizza looks delicious! 🙂

  25. May 28, 2011 11:29 am

    The pizza looks DELICIOUS! Have a safe & fun trip!!!

  26. Abby permalink
    May 28, 2011 12:42 pm

    Mmm. I’m a sucker for Italian food! 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend!

  27. May 28, 2011 10:49 pm

    That pizza looks delicious! We’ll have to see if we can swing by sometime when we’re up there in August 🙂 I bet Chicago is beautiful right now… it’s around 95 degrees in Florida right now… what I wouldn’t give for a Chicago summer!

Leave a Reply

