Skip to content

Memorial Day Weekend Recap

May 30, 2011

An amazing and exhausting long weekend in Chicago and Indianapolis. Told mostly through pictures.

Booze Cruise on Lake Michigan was pretty much a reunion with 130 friends from college

Hot Yoga the next morning was necessary and adored

My non-vegetarian college roommate met me at a vegetarian cafe called The Chicago Diner for an amazing lunch!

[insert Megabus ride to Indianapolis]

5:30am wake up call for the Indy 500

Tailgating, camouflage hats, and t-shirts that promote drinking and driving

The biggest place I’ve ever seen. There was practically a city inside the 2.5 mile track

Video to encapsulate the fun:)

 

The guy I bet my money on WON!!! SO EXCITED! I used my winnings to pay for my ticket to the race;)

Einstein’s breakfast on the drive back to St. Louis

Home:)

I’m currently in need of a nap, a workout, a shower, and the ability to read about 500 blogposts in less than an hour. Totally worth it for such a great weekend!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 3:26 pm

    Awesome weekend! And check out the sweat from your yoga session 😉 It must have been a great workout.

    That sweet potato burger sounds soooo good!

    I’ve never been into car racing, so would the Indy 500 be equally fun for someone who’s never really watched it??

  2. Momma B permalink
    May 30, 2011 3:41 pm

    So glad you joined us and had a great time!!

  3. May 30, 2011 3:52 pm

    I love Einstein’s – always a must visit when I am the US!

  4. May 30, 2011 4:03 pm

    Awww, sounds awesome! Looked like a riot!!! booze Cruze sounds like a great time!

    Cheers

  5. May 30, 2011 4:39 pm

    It looks like you had a fab weekend! I went to a NASCAR race a few years ago and it was INTENSE! Those people sure do know how to party haha 🙂

  6. Abby permalink
    May 30, 2011 5:06 pm

    What a fun trip! That restaurant in Chicago sounds yummy from the few things I read off of the menu!

  7. May 30, 2011 5:16 pm

    Hahah .. I love the.. need to read 500 blog posts in under an hour! So overwhelming when those numbers on the google reader start getting up there!

    Glad you enjoyed your weekend with friends! 🙂

  8. May 30, 2011 5:27 pm

    Haha I ordered the same thing the first time I went to The Chicago Diner. Did you get a milkshake? THEY’RE AMAZING!

  9. May 30, 2011 7:21 pm

    So glad you had fun lady 😀

  10. May 30, 2011 7:45 pm

    what a great weekend!!!! so much fun in so little time! i love it 🙂 the chi-town diner is some place i never went but totally wish i did when i was there! guessss i’ll have to go back!

  11. May 30, 2011 8:41 pm

    Indy 500 is now on the bucket list! I love any excuse for a tailgate!

  12. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    May 31, 2011 12:14 am

    Sounds like a great weekend! 🙂

  13. May 31, 2011 2:21 am

    You always find the best veg burgers! Looks like an amazing weekend. And I have been loving the hot yoga lately too!

  14. May 31, 2011 2:36 am

    looks fun! I wish i was in the states.

  15. May 31, 2011 2:54 pm

    Omigosh this looks like it was an EPIC weekend! I’m so glad you had such a fun time! What shoes did you end up wearing on the booze cruise? And ahh how amazing that you were at the Indy 500! I watched it on tv and decided that I am going next year!! I was happy Dan won (doesn’t he kind of look like Brad Pitt?) but I felt sooo bad for JR!!!

  16. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries permalink
    May 31, 2011 8:10 pm

    It honestly looks like such a fun, yet relaxing weekend. A booze cruise!? Super jealous! I’m looking forward to doing one of those as an excursion while I’m in Europe!! 🙂

  17. June 1, 2011 9:06 am

    Everything looked like so much fun — I’m glad you were in my city! 🙂 The Indy 500 sounded like a blast, too. My aunt was there as well.

    Hoping to go to STL some time this summer to visit my new baby cousin. I will definitely let you know if I do!

Trackbacks

  1. Busy Bee « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

