Skip to content

2011 Goals: May Review

June 1, 2011
tags:

We got beach towels and sailor hats at our sales meeting today.

I’ve been wearing it around all day and people keep giving me weird smiles because they don’t know if I’m serious or not.

***

Is it seriously June? How did that happen? Every year goes by quicker and quicker..not sure how I feel about it! But since another month has passed, it’s time to see how I did on my 2011 goals.

  1. Eat dinner with my family more: Yeah still not happening. I make my own meals and my parents make/heat up/pick up theirs. They’ve been eating super late and I’ve been trying to eat earlier. But if I can I go into the kitchen and chat with them. In an ideal world my mother and I would have time to coordinate our dinners each night and try to share veggies etc…
  2. Tell my dad I love him more: Said it in his birthday card! That counts, right?
  3. Visit at least one out of town friend this year: I got to see a BUNCH of friends this month, but didn’t go on any trips specifically for that. I saw high school friends that came to St. Louis, college friends in Chicago, and roommates at the Indy 500. Each was a reminder of why I love my friends so much.
  4. Successfully complete my first marathon: Over and done with. Feels like so long ago now!
  5. focus more on strength training: I’ve still been getting in more strength training, and recently finished the book “The New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women”. It got me really excited to start doing more beneficial exercises and using heavier weights. I’m hoping to actually use the workouts in the program soon…potentially committing to the full deal.
  6. Pray every day: I’ve been reading my daily prayer booklet, but I don’t really like it that much. It’s just some woman’s random thoughts on scripture passages and they don’t always make sense. I want to find a new one.
  7. be the best where I am RIGHT NOW at work: I’m very ready to be done with my current rotation and move onto my next one in July, so it’s taking a lot of effort to stay motivated. But I’m doing my best!
  8. Own who I am: Mmmhmmmm

I’m thinking I might need to add/remove/revise these goals since we’re halfway through the year and my life is about to change a lot when I move for work. I’ll see what happens!

  • Now that the year is half way over, how are you doing with your goals? Any new ones you’re going to make?
  • Do you like my sailor hat?
16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 2:11 pm

    Your office looks fun! And you look adorable in the sailor cap!

  2. June 1, 2011 2:12 pm

    Super cute sailor hat 🙂 goes perfectly with your outfit! (i would totally rock it all day too!!)

  3. June 1, 2011 2:15 pm

    Where are you moving? Congrats!
    I think the hat is really cute!

  4. June 1, 2011 2:15 pm

    Bringin’ back the sailor hat, love it!
    I have been doing pretty well on my goals. So far I have passed my LEED test and have plans to run a 10k (not quite a marathon, but I’ll get there). I have the worst time motivating myself to stay with my goals, I am not good for my own accountability.

  5. Kacie permalink
    June 1, 2011 2:46 pm

    I used the New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women after a long-lasting injury that didn’t allow me to run for AWHILE and I wanted to get more into strength training. I followed the workout plan pretty closely and really enjoyed it! Some of the exercises got boring or were just weird (squats with one weight between your legs and one overhead–such an awkard position!) so I switched it up a little, but I loved that I felt so accomplished after each workout. I hope you try it out!

  6. June 1, 2011 2:50 pm

    haha. Seeing you in that hat around the office would make me chuckle! It completes your outfit. 😉

    And a suggestion (not that you asked) – have you told your mom that you’d like to eat with the family more? Maybe if they know about your goal(s) it would be easier to make them a reality…just a thought!

    And the one goal I’ve been slacking on is making meals in my crock-pot – I wanted to make at least one a month and well, it hasn’t happened.

  7. June 1, 2011 3:00 pm

    Aw I think the sailor hat is too cute! I love the idea of having goals, but I never write them down. They’re usually in the back of my mind, and I figure, if I need to write them down, they must not be that important to begin with.

    But it’s definitely my goal to run both a marathon and half marathon this year, so we’ll see what happens!

  8. runningonapples permalink
    June 1, 2011 3:12 pm

    I love the sailor hat! I’m having some issues sticking with some of my goals, but maybe I just have to accept having some imperfections and focus more on the positive. That said, I may add a few more goals for the summer season.

  9. June 1, 2011 3:13 pm

    Love the sailor hat! Nautical shoes coming up perhaps?!

  10. June 1, 2011 4:23 pm

    Do you know where your moving too? I should start setting goals I never do

  11. June 1, 2011 6:10 pm

    Thank you for this post today. It reminds me that I need to look at my goals for this year and adjust them for where I am at in my life at this moment. I love the hat!

  12. June 1, 2011 7:05 pm

    Hrm, I should go over my goals for the year…but i think i’m doing ok!!

    love the hat too!

  13. June 1, 2011 8:18 pm

    haha love your hat lady! i’m excited to see your goal revision! sometimes its fun to reevaluate things we thouuught we wanted to do and replace them with things that we’ve been doing! not to mention running a marathon is a ridiculous accomplisment..probbalbly like 5 months of goals worth haha

  14. Abby permalink
    June 1, 2011 8:20 pm

    Cute hat! I made some new goals for June. They include attending an exercise class that involves strength training 3 times per week, keeping up with my half marathon training for my next race, drinking more water, and finally getting rid of the meat in my life. Any pointers for the last one? 🙂

  15. June 2, 2011 7:12 am

    I love that you review your goals monthly…such a wonderful habit to keep. I do love your sailor hat…it’s summery! 🙂

  16. June 2, 2011 8:36 am

    haha, you make a cute sailor!
    cheers

Leave a Reply

