Skip to content

Hot Hot Hot!

June 4, 2011

When my eyes peeked open at 7:30am this morning it was already 80 degrees. I took that as a sign to bound out of bed and get in a run as soon as possible! I was able to run 5 miles in around 42 minutes before getting too tired and dehydrated. Glad I got out there when I did!

After my run I took some time to wander my neighborhood-wide garage sale. My family didn’t participate, but about 10 houses filled their driveways with old stuff to sell.

I really really love garage sales. One time in high school my friend Maggie and I woke up at 5 am on a Saturday and just hit up garage sales all morning. I guess seeing what other people have been stashing in their houses is just fascinating to me!

I didn’t buy anything today (I was hoping to find a good road bike!) but I was definitely tempted to snatch up this number…

With no luck at the garage sale, I decided breakfast had to cheer me up. Nothing like a chocolate-vanilla green monster after a sweaty run. The Kashi Go Lean on top added a nice crunch.

Post breakfast I headed to my gym to get in workout 1A of New Rules of Weight Lifting For Women. I sat out by the pool afterward, but it got crazy hot and I really wanted to be in a raft in my friend Taylor’s private pool. Luckily she had the same idea!

Before heading to Taylor’s house I ran home to make a quick snack-style lunch. And to get flip flops because I forgot them and was walking around in a bikini and running shoes. It was sexy.

Lunch was carrots and tempeh dipped in hummus as well as a sliced apple dipped in Artisana walnut butter. Perfectly satisfying. I think I might start bringing lunches like this to work more often.

Then I got my butt to that pool. The water couldn’t touch my body fast enough!

We had record-breaking heat today! It’s not normally this hot in St. Louis in June and I was very thankful to be able to float in the water and catch up with Taylor. Such a great Saturday afternoon.

On the way home I picked up a new favorite salad from Crazy Bowls and Wraps. The “Tostada” is romaine, chickpeas, feta, pepperocinis, avocado, cilantro, and pico de gallo. The dressing is jalenpeno cilantro. (Normally the salad comes with chicken and tortilla strips but I requested they be left out).

Time to hope in the shower and figure out plans for the night! I’m hoping for some drinks outside – and Taylor mentioned picking up a bottle of Skinny Girl Margarita to try.

Until Tomorrow…

  • Is it hot where you are?
  • Can you run in the heat or do you bring your workout inside?

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2011 7:30 pm

    Surprisingly, it’s actually really cold in NJ right now. I went out for a run at 9AM and I almost needed to grab a sweater!

    I love that your neighborhood has a scheduled yard sale! That’s so much more fun than just looking at one sale on a random weekend.

    And is that a wedding dress for sale…?

  2. squigglefloey permalink
    June 4, 2011 7:36 pm

    It’s actually pretty warm here in So. Cal today. Although they’re predicting rain tmrw…? Um, what?! Hah. Have a wonderful Saturday m’dear

  3. June 4, 2011 7:39 pm

    It’s not bad at all in PA where I live! We had some hot temps early last week, but today was a perfect 80-degree Spring day with no humidity…with a nice breeze too πŸ™‚

  4. June 4, 2011 7:41 pm

    I wish it was hot! It actually snowed a bit this morning! But cleared by later on πŸ™‚ I actually like running in the heat but it never gets too hot here – summer average might be 23 celcius.

  5. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    June 4, 2011 8:01 pm

    I don’t survive well in heat (I’m pretty sure I would actually melt into a puddle if left outside long enough), so I definitely try to bring my workout inside. The biggest problem is that heat takes away my appetite, so I don’t fuel properly and then my workouts are crap, and it cycles. As much as I love summer and hate the colder months, I think spring/fall is my body’s happy place.

  6. June 4, 2011 9:10 pm

    It’s really hot in Chicago too!

  7. June 5, 2011 3:53 am

    You shoulda picked up that dress for me πŸ˜‰

  8. June 5, 2011 7:10 am

    Too bad you didn’t snatch up that gem of a wedding dress πŸ˜‰ And yes, it is SO hot where I am! In VA it’s been almost 100 degrees, and this weekend in Kentucky, it’s been in the 90s! Geeeze!

  9. June 5, 2011 7:34 am

    I love adding cereal to smoothies! So good. I can work out in the heat, but usually I prefer to be inside if it’s humid. If anything, it just makes me too darn tired for the rest of the day!!

  10. June 5, 2011 7:49 am

    It’s gettin’ hot in here!!:) I think I use to listen to that song…I don’t if I should have admitted that:) It’s been in the low 90s or so…no complaints seeing how hot it is there!

    I don’t like running when it’s too HOT outside…it just drains ya…but I have been on my fair share of HOT runs. During the summer when I lived in Grand Junction, I would trail run on the National Monument and it would get SO hot…I guess it depends on how I feel that particular day..

    Have a wonderful Sunday…I gotta get to work!

  11. June 5, 2011 8:13 am

    So hot in Memphis! We’ve had record-breaking heat two days in a row. I love the bikini and running shoes look. A lot of times I hit the pool to lay out after I work out too and I’m sure I look pretty awful!

  12. June 5, 2011 8:22 am

    I love yard sales! I haven’t been any to any this year, but last summer I would find a bunch on Craigslist and strategically map out their locations, so we crossed town in a systematic, efficient way. I was obsessed. I got to get back into it! Yard sales rule!

  13. Danielle permalink
    June 5, 2011 11:14 am

    Skinnygirl margaritas are delish!

  14. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries permalink
    June 5, 2011 11:21 am

    I don’t enjoy running to begin with, so when it’s hot it gives me an excuse to stay indoors πŸ™‚ It’s definitely hot down here, but it’s not just the heat that’s bad. It’s the humidity that kills me!

  15. Abby permalink
    June 5, 2011 11:41 am

    I can’t believe you didn’t get that dress! You would have looked smokin’. πŸ˜‰ lol. We have had one really hot day so far but this week it has been in the low 80’s. Pretty enjoyable! July and August will be a different story though!

    I have a hard time running when it is hot outside! I like to get up nice and early and get a run in if at all possible. Otherwise I take it inside!

    Did you ladies end up trying the Skinnygirl Margs?

  16. June 5, 2011 12:07 pm

    OMG NO!! so hard to run in the heat!! sounds like u got a run in just in time!! love that salad!!

  17. June 6, 2011 4:36 am

    You need to blow some of that heat up this way!!!!!!!!

    cheers

Leave a Reply

