Skip to content

It Crept Back In

June 6, 2011

First of all, I have to say congratulations to our two newest marathoners – Melissa and Anna. Such a huge accomplishment!! Awesome job ladies!

****************

I didn’t sleep well last night at all. I feel like I was only getting twenty-minute spurts and there were some crazy dreams thrown in as well. I blame it on all the sugar I ate last night. Between handfuls of cinnamon chocolate chips (amazing), fruit, and dried mango, my body was a little overloaded.

I learned when I did a little detox back in January that I feel better and sleep better when I have less sugar – artificial and real – in my diet. Lately it’s been creeping back in with stevia in my breakfasts, more mid-day Vitamin Waters, gum, and then lots of after dinner snacking. I am going to make a conscious effort to slowly try to reduce my intake again. I don’t think it’s practical for me to maintain a diet completely free of sugars, but cutting back on the chocolate chips at night should help:)

WORKOUT:

Since I didn’t sleep well I was a bit nervous about my run this morning. For the first time since last fall I ran outside before work. It felt so good to start my day in the outdoors instead of on the treadmill, and it’s always nice to be able to get ready at home.

I ran my usual loop but in the opposite direction…trippy. I guess all the sugar last night was still in my system because it fueled me through 7 miles! Bringing my Camelbak for water helped too since it was already pretty warm.

OUTFIT:

I’d been eying this flowy white top at Gap for a while, but they never had my size. Two weeks ago I popped in and found it in my size – and on sale! Awesome:)

I also brought out one of my favorite pairs of summer heels. These gladiator style sandals are from Target (last year) and are SO comfy. <3.

On the way to work I had to drop my car off to get repaired after my little accident a few weeks ago. They’ll have it all week, so I am now the proud rental owner of a Chevy Malibu. I’ve never driven anything other than a Camry so it feels weird! I like it though.

Fun Fact: Did you know that there is a little arrow near theΒ fuel level indicator on the dashboard that tells you what side of the car the gas tank is on?

BREAKFAST:

Not really going along with my ditch the sugar efforts, I had overnight oats sweetened with stevia. It’s just so good! Perhaps I’ll just try to reduce the amount of stevia I use in them…

This week is a bit more relaxed which is a nice after last week’s business. Hoping to get lots done!

QUESTION:

  • What kind of car do you drive? Have you always driven that model?

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    June 6, 2011 10:53 am

    I thought stevia has less than 1g of carbs and a GI of zero?

    • June 6, 2011 11:02 am

      I actually don’t know much about stevia, except that it’s from a plant and it’s natural. I don’t think it’s bad, but using it to sweeten my foods just makes me crave sweet foods even more!

  2. June 6, 2011 10:57 am

    haha, yes… The arrow is to prevent doing circles around the gas station!
    Hot outfit

    cheers

  3. June 6, 2011 11:23 am

    Okay first of all–I absolutely love your outfits!! Can we go shopping?! πŸ™‚

    Secondly–this is totally random but what kind of shoes should I wear in NYC?!

    • June 6, 2011 11:33 am

      To walk around NYC? Comfy flats!! Your favorite pair, or TOMS, or something along those lines. Unless you’re going out for the night and can take cabs, don’t try to do the heels!

  4. June 6, 2011 11:24 am

    I’m with you on the sugar. I never cut it out, but I know that it makes me feel really sluggish and “blah” if I have to much!

    Your outfit is too cute! πŸ™‚

  5. Blonde on a Mission permalink
    June 6, 2011 11:29 am

    I was so happy when I figured that out about the gas tank arrow! I always forgot which side it was on when I was in a hurry. And I drive a 2010 Chevrolet Cobalt but before that I had a Pontiac G5 and they are literally the exact same car, just with a different front end from the brand. So I guess I’ve always driven the same car.

    Do you find that you’re the same way with natural sugars from fruits or just the added sugars? I have dramatically reduced the amount of sugars I take in, but I still eat a lot of fruit, and I’m experiencing mental clarity and better sleeping patterns. I used to wake up 3-4 times a night and have a lot of anxiety but I find that diminishing now.

    • June 6, 2011 11:33 am

      It’s mostly just added sugars. I do find with sugars found in fruits, so I’m going to try to stick to those to cure my sweet tooth.

  6. June 6, 2011 11:30 am

    I’m so jealous of your outdoor run! Was it light when you went out? I’m always so nervous about running in the dark.
    I drive a Saab 9-3, it’s a 4-door sedan…and I LOVE it! I’ve been driving it for about 2.5 years; before that, I’d always driven a Honda Civic!

    • June 6, 2011 11:34 am

      It was light out! Since I didn’t have to get to the gym I was able to wait until 6:30am to start my run! I don’t like running in the dark either. It’s actually peaceful mentally, but I worry about tripping or just…getting kidnapped.

  7. June 6, 2011 12:02 pm

    Great run!! πŸ™‚

    Right now, I drive a Mazda 3…which is great because I drive an hour to and from work. It’s my first Mazda and I’m really happy with it! We also own a Jeep Commander. It’s the third Jeep I’ve owned so I am definitely a loyal Jeep customer…however, not so good for me to drive to work! πŸ˜‰

  8. Jocelyn permalink
    June 6, 2011 12:23 pm

    I actually was just thinking the same thing about sugar myself after I overloaded on desserts and a candy bar at a wedding. I don’t think cutting it out all together is reasonable but starting yesterday I decided to give up sweets and added sugars for a week and see how I feel.

  9. June 6, 2011 12:25 pm

    Oh my gosh, I just found out about that little gas tank arrow a few weeks ago! I think that’s so neat. My car is a little outdated for that upgrade though. I drive a sweet 1996 Honda Accord. Her name’s LaFonda πŸ˜‰

  10. June 6, 2011 12:29 pm

    NICE RUN! ilove ur shoes!! wish i cud relate but alas.. dnt drive in the UK!

  11. June 6, 2011 12:31 pm

    Cute top! I have the same one πŸ™‚

  12. June 6, 2011 1:01 pm

    Loving the monochromatic nude outfit! You look fierce πŸ™‚

  13. Abby permalink
    June 6, 2011 1:15 pm

    Outdoor runs are the best! πŸ™‚ I’ve been missing them since I started night shift. It is usually around 85 by the time I wake up and that screams miserable to me! lol. Time to become friends with the treadmill again for a few days a week!

  14. June 6, 2011 11:50 pm

    ahhh…thanks lady!!! your encouragement helped out sooooooooooooo much!

  15. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 7, 2011 11:01 am

    I am with you on sugar. I feel so much better without it! And I’m okay with stevia as it doesn’t have the same effect on my body, but it does make me crave more sugar…

    And great run!

  16. June 8, 2011 11:40 am

    Thank you so much for the shout out! It was really exciting, and I’m already looking towards my next one. I need to put a recap up at least today or tomorrow.

Trackbacks

  1. I Got One! « Fitting It All In
  2. Dried Mango Less Sugar

Leave a Reply

