Skip to content

Monday Man-Day: Crazy Ex-Girlfriends

June 6, 2011

This edition of Monday Man-Day is all about the baggage our guys have: Psycho Ex-Girlfriends. We’ve all been there. Maybe she just can’t let go and keeps texting him “I want you back” messages. Maybe she’s going the mean route and starting rumors about you. Maybe she’s just really stinkin’ pretty and likes to make it known through her Facebook profile pictures. Either way, this girl sucks.

source

But it’s how we handle these psycho exes that I’m interested in.

Option 1: Compulsively check her facebook profile. Because really we’re all a little low in self-confidence and it feels good to know what she’s up to and that she still hasn’t found anyone else. This isn’t that drastic of an approach, and lots of times you can’t see her whole profile if you aren’t friends with her anyway.

Option 2: Compulsively check her facebook profile AND your boyfriends text messages. Make sure there isn’t anything fishy going on. And if she’s texting him, you let him know you’re not cool with it.

Option 3: Make up a fake facebook profile and/or use someone else’s facebook to figure out what this girl is doing. Maybe you even get your boyfriend’s password and start looking around his account. This is where it starts to get a little out of control…

Option 4: Ignore it completely and be confident enough to know that your guy chose you and you have nothing to worry about.

source

I’m somewhere between #1 and #4. I’ve never been one to use border-line stalker methods, but I realize that my level of ignoring the problem isn’t the norm for most girls. I’m just a weirdo.

So tell me…

  • How do you handle the crazy ex-girlfriend situation?
  • Any stories to tell?

and guys:

  • What do you think about how girls handle the ex-girlfriend problem?
  • Do guys do the same thing for their girlfriends ex-boyfriends?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 2:52 pm

    Love, love this post! I have a story for ya.
    2. My brother dated a real “character.” We were in high school and came home from school on Valentine’s Day and it was fishy because there were heart post-it notes from our front door leading up to his room. We follow them and it looked like Valentine’s Day had vomited all over his bedroom.
    I was like “Wow, Brian. She broke into our house. She’s CRAZY”
    ..and from the CLOSET, she giggles “don’t call me crazy!”
    It was insane!! He got better at this “No really. We’re done.” communication skills after that one 🙂

  2. Abby permalink
    June 6, 2011 2:57 pm

    Great post! I’m definitely a mixture of #1 and #4 as well. I find it a bit weird that a couple of my current boyfriend’s ex girlfriends have added me on Facebook though.

    As far as number 2 and 3 go, I have a friend that still does those things with her fiance. I feel like if you can’t trust a person enough to respect the privacy of their cell phone or Facebook account then you probably shouldn’t be with them. That or something should be done to resolve the issue.

  3. June 6, 2011 3:21 pm

    Fun post! I think I’m a four but not necessarily for confidence reasons. More of the “ignorance is bliss” type of thing. I’m the type of person who could see one facebook message or text and take it to a whole other level (I think its because I watch so many soap operas haha!) so I just spare myself the anxiety. My boyfriend DOES have a crazy ex though. They broke up 4 YEARS ago and she still, without fail, texts him multiple times a week asking to come over….luckily we are both aware of just how insane she is.

  4. June 6, 2011 7:19 pm

    haha this is a fun Monday Man-Day post. I’m definitely an option #1. I did some serious Facebook stalking of my husband’s ex-girlfriend back in college…it was silly and then Ben deleted his account because I kept getting all worked up about his ex-gf posting on his FB wall. LOL it seems so ridiculous now! 🙂

  5. June 6, 2011 9:17 pm

    Uhhhh I was the crazy ex girlfriend. Let’s leave it at that. At least I learned my lesson, haha.

  6. June 7, 2011 8:48 am

    Uhh I hate ex girlfriends. All my relationships in hs and college ended because of an ex gf. In college an ex came up to me and my bf in a bar and dumped her drink on both of us. Later I found out he was sending her gifts, so I ended things. A month later he and her were “done for good” and he wanted to get back together… um NO. Five years later I am happy to be drama free.

Leave a Reply

