Skip to content

How Well Do You Know Yourself?

June 9, 2011

Yesterday I got the results of a 7 hour psychological test I had taken before getting hired at my company. We were evaluated on our personality, strengths, opportunities for development, and leadership potential. It is seriously creepy how well they can peg a person based on answering random questions.

During my review of the results, I was asked to go through different areas and say where I thought I would test before they told me where I actually ended up. I was shocked at how difficult it was to categorize myself. I assumed I knew exactly what type of person I am. And while I can’t give any detailed information due to confidentiality terms, I wanted to share a bit about parts of my personality that surprised me.

source

When discussing Extraversion versus Introversion, I was actually tempted to put myself more on the introvert side. I would never call myself shy, but I know that I need alone time. I think it might be due to my eating disorder, but when I was thinking about it I realized that I have often preferred to relax at home rather than go out to big parties or stay out late at bars.

But then I read some of the descriptions of the two, and noticed I most definitely fall into the extrovert category. What was I thinking?  I love talking to people and developing relationships. I freaking publicize my life on the internet. I would never be able to be alone all day, I just need a bit of time to myself after all that stimulation. So in reality, I draw energy from other people moreso than from myself. Could I really not know myself very well?

Another area that confused me was whether I made decisions based on my senses or my intuition. I though that I was a pretty factual person – I see things how they are and tend to be a realist in most situations. While I do have quite a bit of practicality in me, I actually tend to fall more on the intuitive side of things, looking at the bigger picture and focusing on future achievement. I believe I have the ability to change and rearrange my life and am pretty creative and innovative.

I like that:)

source

One of the biggest shockers was that I tend to be more a feeling person than a thinking person. Because of my tendency to be quite frank with people and because I am often the logical one in a situation, I assumed I was a thinker. I liked to solve problems and focus on the truth and principle of the matter. But after more consideration, I recognized that I am an extremely feeling-oriented person. I absolutely hate making others feel bad! I can’t take the person out of a situation and so have trouble delivering bad knews. I know that I am fairly empethetic and a huge people pleaser, so I suppose I should have been able to see that this categorization fits me better. Keeping the peace is my goal.

source

One thing I was absolutely 100% sure about? I am a planner. I am not at all spontaneous. I like to be decisive, to have a purpose, and be organized. I stress out when plans change or when I’m given a task without structure. It’s not something I really pride myself on and I work on being more open to change – in fact I try to surround myself with people that will help me with that. It’s not always a bad thing to prefer a set schedule, but I think it can make me a little boring. Oh and it said that I’m often accused of being mad when I’m not. Really I’m just focused:)

source

It concerns me that I was so wrong about different parts of my personality. Have I been missing out on fun parties because I though I needed to stay home and spend time alone? Have I been hesistent to express myself creatively because I assumed I was a fact person? I think we have the ability to label ourselves and get caught up in what we think should be instead of what comes naturally.
So tell me…

  • How well do you know yourself? Have you ever had to take a personality test to find out?
  • Where do you fall in some of these categories?
14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 2:20 pm

    We did these in high school, and I was actually surprised by my results- I think of myself as an introvert, but as I’ve gotten older, it turns out that I’m much more of an extrovert. I’m absolutely a planner, too, though. Type-A all the way.

  2. June 9, 2011 2:23 pm

    I LOVE taking personality tests just to see how my visionof myself .. compares! 🙂

  3. June 9, 2011 2:23 pm

    I am a planner for sure, we did the “colours” personality test at my work recently and I was almost a perfect “gold” – which screams planner! I would say introvert but again I might not be… I always prefer a quiet night at home but don’t mind being with larger groups of people, my job requires me to be at larger events and networking.

  4. June 9, 2011 2:26 pm

    So..you’re an…ENFP? I’m an ENTP and it fits me to a tee!

  5. June 9, 2011 2:37 pm

    i LOVE personality tests!! i took one once but it wasnt very detailed.. i was who i thought i was mainly!

  6. June 9, 2011 2:57 pm

    I am most definitely a planner too. I live by to-do lists and love marking things off (and it is absolutely the only way I get anything done)! But I don’t know so much about doing things based on feelings or thinking… that’s intersting…

  7. June 9, 2011 4:12 pm

    I haven’t taken such an extensive personality test, but I have taken abbreviated versions in tons of psych and counseling classes. I’m like you – I can feel like an introvert AND an extrovert. I need my alone time, but overall I enjoy being around people. I’m certainly not shy, but I’m not a party animal. I’d rather have fun with a smaller group than a huge one. And I’m SUCH a planner. If I don’t have a plan, things get real ugly, real fast 🙂

  8. Abby permalink
    June 9, 2011 4:41 pm

    I don’t know that I have ever taken a personality test like the one you took but a few of the internships I applied for made us do a survey asking what you would do in various situation that were presented. I think those types of things can give a feel of a person’s personality.

    I think that I am a mixture of an introvert and an extrovert. I think many times people think of the only way you can be extroverted is if you are loud and out there all of the time. lol. I really enjoy meeting/talking to people, especially with common interests.

    I am also definitely a planner, especially during the school year. I have to make a list for everything–it is such a good feeling to cross things off of the list!

  9. June 9, 2011 5:34 pm

    In a management class I took we had to take the personality test. I’m kind of like you. People that know me would definitely call me an extrovert, because I’ve always loved meeting new people and had an easy time making friends, but especially in the last few years I’ve enjoyed being at home more and more and am not a big fan of long nights at bars, so I tend to think I’ve kind of become an introvert! Growing up my brother and sister were always the “quiet ones” and I (the youngest) was always the outgoing one, but I think that’s changing!

  10. June 9, 2011 6:00 pm

    I would put myself in the introvert category, but I know I’m an extrovert at heart. I do like relaxing at home, but I thrive around people and making relationships. I am a 100% planner – if things go out of whack, so do I!!!

  11. June 9, 2011 7:21 pm

    Oh my gosh, I LOVE LOVE LOVE that picture of you! 🙂

  12. June 9, 2011 7:39 pm

    I also feel conflicted in how I’d categorize my personality. I think it all depends on my mood, and sometimes I’ll be an extrovert, and other times I just want to be by myself. I know that I also need alone time, but I could never spend a day just by myself!

    I think that this test is so interesting! But I don’t know if I could take an exam for 7 hours…

  13. June 9, 2011 7:39 pm

    I also hate to admit that I’m a planner. I would love to be more go with the flow and relaxed but certain things like my work schedule I NEED to know. I go crazy when it’s late coming out and I’m wondering when I’m working!

Trackbacks

  1. Allie To The Rescue « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

