Skip to content

Parties In The Park

June 9, 2011

Last night I attended Parties In The Park, and outdoor after-work party in Clayton. Clayton is a home to many companies (including mine) and also tons of restaurants and bars so it’s a great place to hang out. The parties include live music and food and drink vendors, and while they used to be held in a park nearby they have been moved this year onto one of the streets that runs through Clayton.

My friend Maddie’s dad owns a building on the street and offers his rooftop space for all of us to hang out. It was a little warm, but the perfect night to have a couple of drinks and hang out with friends. I even ran into my older brother!

 

Before heading to the party, I made myself a *gasp* smoothie for dinner. I also had a Luna Bar to fill me up.

 

 

and when I got home I made myself a small bowl of oatmeal with almond butter and ate a grapefruit.

*****************************

I decided to cancel my planned run this morning in favor of some time on the elliptical, which I hoped would be easier on my tired legs. Good choice I think, and I ended up completing 5 miles of intervals in 50 minutes. It was HOT in my gym today and I was a sweaty mess!

I’m also really sad that I apparently missed Meredith Viera’s last day on The Today Show. I’ve been a huge fan of the show since the Katie Couric days, but am very happy that Ann Curry got the anchor position.

Anyway, after the elliptical I completed workout 1A of The New Rules of Lifting for Women. Today’s workout featured less reps, so I made sure to up my weight a little bit. Tired legs will turn to sore legs I’m sure!

OUTFIT:

I didn’t really have the mental capacity to pick out a cute outfit last night, so I grabbed the easiest thing out of my closet. Do this shirt and skirt even go together?

 

BREAKFAST:

I almost made overnight oats last night, but some weird instinct was telling me I’d want hot oats. They hit the spot! And I only have one more scoop of TJ’s Valencia Peanut Butter left in the jar before I can use it for Oats In A Jar! Now if that doesn’t get you excited, I don’t know what will.

 

Thank you all SO MUCH for your kind words about my move to Dallas! It is so encouraging to hear your excitement and love for the city. I’m excited to start apartment hunting (I’ll need a furnished place if anyone has tips for that) and figuring out my life down there. But for now I’m starting a HUGE list of things I need to close up and get done before I leave St. Louis. These four weeks are going to FLY!

**For any St. Louis readers, today is Dine Out For the Cure. Go to any one of the restaurants listed HERE for lunch or dinner and a portion of your bill will be dedicated to Breast Cancer research! I’m going out to dinner tonight:)**

Have a great Thursday!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 10:53 am

    I LOVE that outfit!!! Yes the skirt and shirt definitely work together! So cute!

  2. runningonapples permalink
    June 9, 2011 10:53 am

    Love all your outfits! It must be exciting to make such a huge life change…I wish I was better at taking such big leaps

  3. June 9, 2011 10:57 am

    I love that skirt, it’s so cute and those oats look delish 😀

  4. June 9, 2011 11:14 am

    Your outfit looks fab! Love the bold color choices 🙂

  5. June 9, 2011 11:30 am

    your outfit is adorable I love the blue shirt

  6. June 9, 2011 11:39 am

    Sounds like a fun night and such a cute dress. 🙂

  7. June 9, 2011 11:39 am

    Wowsers!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Cheers

  8. Quang permalink
    June 9, 2011 12:11 pm

    Tell JPB to button his collar to his shirt.

  9. June 9, 2011 12:26 pm

    Of course the shirt/skirt combo go together! There’s cobalt blue in both 🙂 LOVE cobalt!

    It’s so nice that so much of your family is close by in St. Louis. Do you think you’ll miss that when you’re in Dallas?

  10. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    June 9, 2011 2:51 pm

    I’ve never tried that flavour of Luna bar before… it’s on my list now. 🙂 I’m really loving Chocolate Raspberry as of late, but the Target my dad and I go to in Washington hasn’t been stocking them lately.

    And I LOVE your dress!!

    Blair

  11. June 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    Yes- I think it goes together! Esp since you tied it in with the neutral accessories! But I totally have those days too, especially when I go out the night before… all of the sudden my morning outfit choices become rather haphazard. But that sounds like a fun night!

    Good luck with the apartment search! I’m actually doing my own search here in SF! And yes, I will def let you know when I go see my brother! MY boss actually used to live in Dallas so she gave me a huge list of must-eat places that I can pass on to you as well 🙂

  12. Abby permalink
    June 9, 2011 4:16 pm

    I just whipped up my overnight oats in a jar for tomorrow morning in a crunchy valencia pb jar–I cannot wait for breakfast to come! lol. That is my favorite PB!

  13. June 11, 2011 10:26 am

    I love love what you wore to the work party! Such a fun print!

Leave a Reply

