Skip to content

Priorities Straight

June 10, 2011

Good Morning!

 

So last night at dinner, my mom and I were talking about where I would live in Dallas and how I would want to be close to work. At some point I mentioned that Dorry told me the Bikram studio in Dallas was very nice, and my mom’s face immediately went into a state of panic.

“Oh shoot I didn’t even think of that!” she said.

“You’re going to have to live close to the Bikram studio. You’d be so mad if you had to drive 45 minutes to get to yoga”.

 

At least we have our priorities straight. 

 

source

At Bikram this morning I told my studio owner that I would be moving to Dallas. She actually started her practice in Dallas before opening the studios in St. Louis and was very excited for me. She knows the owners of the studio in Dallas very well (there are actually 5 studios in Dallas, but the one on Mockingbird Lane is apparently the biggest/nicest). She said Bikram there was very similar to my studio here in St. Louis, and a little less regimented if anything. I can handle that:)

 

OUTFIT:

I should probably get another pair of sandals because I end up wearing these everyday.  Oh! And this is my new shirt from Old Navy that I used my Groupon on.

 

BREAKFAST:

 

God forbid I go a whole week without a breakfast cookie, I made sure to prep one last night. Covered in peanut flour sauce and a big, on-sale strawberry on top. Delightful:)

Enjoy your Friday!

QUESTION

  • When you are house or apartment hunting, what are your priorities?

I would love to live in a walkable area with lots of cute restaurants and shops, as well as close to a park or trail for running. As for the apartment itself, I really just want a washer and dryer in the unit.

 

Ps: check out my friend Griffin’s blog! He writes about fitness, music, and a variety of other things. His latest is a review of P90x! Always nice to have more male bloggers around:)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 10:23 am

    When I was apartment shopping, a washer/dryer were the least of my priorities. I figured I could always buy new clothes to reduce my laundry load 😉

    My non-negotiables though were a facility gym, a walk-in closet and a reasonable sized kitche with natural lighting…somehow managed to get all three, plus way more space than I though I’d be able to afford downtown!

  2. June 10, 2011 10:23 am

    When moving to St Louis, I thought the same thing: I want to live close to restaurants, coffee shops, and shops! I ended up finding an apartment that required a drive to most of those things and I think it has saved me A LOT of money. ❤

  3. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 10, 2011 10:30 am

    haha great priorities! and love your shirt 🙂

  4. June 10, 2011 10:37 am

    Dishwasher and location, hands down. My roommate and I passed on an apt with a dishwasher for our current place that is in a great location right downtown, but sometimes I still think I would rather drive into the city than handwash all my dishes!

  5. June 10, 2011 10:46 am

    haha I love the cat picture. So similar to a pose my cat loves!

    when we moved to NC, we were not picky at ALL, mostly just waned a dishwasher, washer/dryer hookups, and at least 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. we were lucky to find those things on our first apartment tour, and it was an easy choice! best of luck with your apartment searching!

  6. June 10, 2011 11:24 am

    I’m moving in September and I love my area, so I refused to move further than just down the street. Everything is there, a grocery store, my gym, lots of good takeout places, etc. They are even building a Target next door, so I can’t go too far! I was planning to get the smaller one bedroom that is offered, but decided to pay a little extra for the bigger one with a fireplace. It will be so nice in the winter when the weather is crappy.

  7. June 10, 2011 11:53 am

    Love the priorities! When looking for my next place I want to find a place that has walkability-especially to coffee shops, a nice gym close by, trails/parks in the area, and cute features. I totally agree about the laundry as well. Currently my laundry situation includes having to pay $1.25 a load to wash and $1.25 per load to dry–which it always takes more than one cycle. Such a waste of money!

  8. June 10, 2011 12:27 pm

    Love the outfit today – your red nails look great too!

  9. June 10, 2011 12:53 pm

    you’re going to be the hottest cookie in Texas!!!!!!!!!!

    I look for location then price when appartment hunting

    cheers

  10. June 10, 2011 12:54 pm

    Super cute outfit! Just was at Old Navy today, too! 🙂

    Definitely need a w/d in my apartment and if I get lucky–a dishwasher!

  11. indecisiveathlete permalink
    June 10, 2011 1:23 pm

    Hahaha those are good priorities your mom def knows whats important! I like to make sure I’m going to have decent running routes and def a washers and dryer

  12. June 10, 2011 2:06 pm

    Well, we bought.. so is is different.. we had to consider resale too.

    By our biggest thing was location..and the safety of the location!!

  13. Kim permalink
    June 10, 2011 2:20 pm

    LOVE the shirt =) I might have to go get that lol congrats on DALLAS! I’m totally coming to visitt

  14. sophonisba permalink
    June 10, 2011 6:59 pm

    Walkability and a PORCH. I currently have the former but not the latter, but I’m hoping to remedy that when my lease runs out in September. I’m also a big fan of counter space (so hard to find, though), closets, and CHEAP.

  15. June 10, 2011 8:49 pm

    Ceiling fans, location, price, closets!, and the bathroom not in my bedroom 🙂

  16. June 10, 2011 9:13 pm

    yay! I’ll email you back asap about with my thoughts on where to live! 🙂

  17. June 11, 2011 8:07 am

    Super cute outfit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

