Skip to content

Running and a Yoga Garden

June 12, 2011

Hi everyone!

This morning I woke up early to meet a friend I used to Irish Dance with for a run. I saw that it was 66 degrees and practically jumped for joy. No more heat advisories and perfect running weather!

Leah and I ran almost 6 miles in Forest Park while catching up on life. She just graduated from George Washington University and is actually moving to Israel in July to become fluent in Palestinian dialect. SO cool. SO unlike anything I would ever do. Makes my Dallas move seem a little pathetic.

Once home I quickly showered and made myself a smoothie before my mom, aunt and I went on a garden tour. My smoothie was of the Very Berry Green Monster variety (recipe here) and was topped with a handful of Kashi Go Lean.

Fun Fact: My aunt has started making overnight oats! She wasn’t adding anything sweet and said they kind of tasted like sour cream, but I think her idea for some honey will solve that problem:) She loves that she can easily bring them to work and that the Greek yogurt is so filling. Woohoo!

So this Garden Tour we went on was sponsored by the Missouri Botanical Gardens and featured 8 houses around St. Louis. Each garden was unique in it’s own way – from full if color and water features to very tailored and simple. They were so beautiful – I cannot BELIEVE the work people put into their back yards!

We saw huge vegetable gardens…

a tropical oasis with multiple ponds and waterfalls…

a perfectly manicured landscape (where I decided I’d have my wedding)

and even a YOGA garden!

This women has yoga instructors lead classes on her deck a couple of mornings each week. It was so serene and had some (kind of funny) nature noises playing through speakers. I took it upon myself to practice my standing bow in one of the private yoga decks. Please disregard by un-arched back.

Outtake!

In between two of the gardens, we stopped at Blackberry Cafe for a quick lunch. Neither my mom nor my aunt had been before and we were in the neighborhood. They appreciated the family-owned small business with handed down recipes just as much as I do!

We started with a babaganoush appetizer that I wanted to swim in. TONS of roasted garlic and hints of lemon and tahini made this eggplant dip luxurious. He said the recipe would cost us though:)

I was going to try their homemade veggie burger but it was sold out ( a good sign). Instead I ordered their veggie wrap. This was lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, and mushrooms swimming in their homemade hummus and dotted with feta. Absolutely wonderful.

I ate half along with the apple I grabbed as a side. And the owner was nice enough to give me an oatmeal cookie for dessert!

My mom and aunt enjoyed their Gyro and Mediterannean Wrap, respectively, and said they would go back. I love successfully introducing people to a new restaurant!

It was a great day spent with family and I’m glad my mom signed me up for it four months ago. I’ve still got to get to the gym for workout 1B of the New Rules of Lifting for Women, but other than that my night should be full of blog reading, guest post writing, IIN module listening, and apartment hunting.

QUESTION:

  • Are you into gardens or gardening?

Looking at them is fun, but I just cannot see myself getting into the laborious planting and weeding part of it. I know I’ll probably change my mind when I’m older and have my own yard to beautify.

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 4:31 pm

    You and your family are so cute! Now I see where you get your beauty from. 🙂 Glad you had a wonderful day.

  2. June 12, 2011 4:33 pm

    Wow the garden tour looks cool! I’d probably be over it after about 2 or 3 though. My Mom would definitely go if there was one in Memphis. When something good like a veggie burger is sold out and you know it must be good, I always have go back the same week to get it!

  3. June 12, 2011 4:49 pm

    How beautiful! That would be an awesome wedding place! I love looking at gardens but I am not so into the planting and stuff! Maybe some day I will get my grandma and dad’s green thumbs!

  4. June 12, 2011 7:55 pm

    Wow, gorgeous gardens! I would love to have a big beautiful garden full of color flowers, trees, and a veggie garden, but unfortunately, I inherited my mother’s black thumb and therefore any plant I touch dies within a week! 😦

    Looks like you had a great afternoon! I love little family-owned restaurants!

  5. June 12, 2011 7:56 pm

    Umm, can I live there please? 😀

    Whitney

  6. June 12, 2011 8:09 pm

    what a beautiful day!!! running with a friend and then a garden walk with family ladies! i love it 🙂 and i seriously am LOVING your haircut, it’s so chic on you!

  7. June 12, 2011 8:31 pm

    Those gardens are gorgeous! There definitely is a lot of work that goes into maintaining a garden–I definitely could not keep one as amazing as those! Sounds like a fun day!

  8. June 12, 2011 8:44 pm

    I love my garden! It is my third year with it and worth all the work. Having the fresh veggies right out my back door is awesome 🙂 I

  9. June 12, 2011 8:51 pm

    That garden tour looks amazing! I spent all day yesterday looking for apartments.. I hope your search is going better than mine 🙂

  10. June 12, 2011 9:45 pm

    I would LOVE to get into gardening, but backyards in NJ just aren’t very conducive to it. Those gardens look incredible, though! I would definitely look into having a yoga deck right in my backyard.

    Mmmm Mediterranean food = love

  11. squigglefloey permalink
    June 13, 2011 2:00 am

    I’ve never been into gardens or gardening unless animals were involved haha. I found it kinda boring otherwise. What’s interesting, however, is that my boyfriend is really into plants and gardens — probably because he was a bio major! haha

  12. June 13, 2011 6:39 am

    Excellent photos and poses!!! I assume they are good poses, I don’t know the first thing about yoga

    Looked like a pleasant day!

    Cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Strike Two « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

