Skip to content

Comforting Soup

June 13, 2011

I’m a little stressed out. Between working full-time, Nutrition School, my blog, and trying to plan a move to Dallas I just can’t seem to find enough hours in the day. With a million things going on AND a freezing cold office, I knew something warm and comforting was on the menu for dinner tonight.

And when my boss decided we were having a 5:30pm meeting, “quick” got added to that list.

Enter: Doctored up Trader Joe’s Roasted Red Pepper Soup and a side of roasted asparagus.

I added some corn, black beans, and spinach to a big bowl of soup to give it some texture, carbs, and protein. Warm soup soothes the soul:)

A grapefruit wasΒ  a sweet ending to the meal, but now I’m aggressively chomping on tortilla chips and dark chocolate chips.

I can’t wait for my massage this weekend!!

  • What’s your favorite soup?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 8:06 pm

    Looks healthy and delicious!

  2. June 13, 2011 8:10 pm

    I love your spoon! It looks like a seashell! πŸ™‚ My favorite soup is a recipe out of Ellie Krieger’s So Easy. It has whole wheat tortellini, spinach, fire roasted tomatoes, basil, carrots, celery, and I can’t remember what else though! It is definitely comforting! Hope you have a great week Clare!

  3. June 13, 2011 8:23 pm

    Roasted butternut and tomato soup and the bonus – its super easy to make at home!

  4. June 13, 2011 8:34 pm

    I love that the soup looks plain from a first look, but is actually full of goodies inside! Delicious!

  5. June 13, 2011 9:02 pm

    You do have a lot going on, so I hope you can find time to relax! I love lentil soup – specifically my grandmother’s recipe. πŸ™‚

  6. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 13, 2011 10:09 pm

    Love adding fresh ingredients to pre-made soups. Such a delicious shortcut!

  7. June 14, 2011 6:52 am

    I’m sure that massage will do wonders for you πŸ™‚
    My favorite soup is a hearty bean one with tons of veggies

  8. June 14, 2011 7:33 am

    Ugh, I cannot tell you how amazing that looks to me right now. Doesn’t a cold office just drive you insane? I, honestly, cannot function with blue fingers so, even though it is hot outside, I often bring soups like this to work. Also, I never thought of that combination – roasted red pepper and asparagus! I bet tomato and asparagus would be great too. Thanks for the idea! πŸ™‚

  9. June 14, 2011 7:39 am

    How adorbs is that spoon?! My favorite soup is Amy’s Veggie Barley… so tasty.

  10. June 14, 2011 8:20 am

    that soup looks great! I love the idea of “doctoring up” a soup with veggies and beans…so smart! I like Amy’s Minestrone and Amy’s lentil & veggie!

  11. June 14, 2011 8:31 am

    Best wishes for managing all that is on your plate right now! Good thing you have a massage scheduled..that should help!:)

    Great modification to the soup!

    Have a lovely day!!

  12. June 14, 2011 7:04 pm

    Ahhh…nice addition to the soup! I love the corn in there especially! πŸ™‚

    and i hear ya on the busy…man oh man, story of my life.

  13. June 16, 2011 6:59 am

    oohhh I love that soup spoon! CUTE
    A massage sounds WONDERFUL! I need to get one too, maybe tm πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

