Skip to content

Favorite Lunch of Late

June 13, 2011

I’ve been repeating the same lunch lately but I haven’t showed it to you on the blog. I’m not having this every single day, but when I don’t have leftovers it has become my go-to. I present to you: my version of the snack plate.

 

It’s not revolutionary, I know. But I am loving the variety and satiation this provides me! I cover all my bases with veggies, protein, fruit, and a little healthy fat.

You’ve got the crisp apple, sliced and then dipped into plain Greek yogurt:

Then you’ve got your sugar snap peas, carrots, and cherry tomatoes for veggies as well as some sliced raw tempeh (<3) for added protein. All of these to be dipped in hummus.

I love munching and crunching through my lunch, alternating bites between sweet and savoury. It’s totally easy to throw together the night before and and incredibly refreshing mid-day break on a hot summer day. I just love it!

 

  • What’s your favorite lunch lately?
  • What’s normally on your snack plates?

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 2:36 pm

    I LOVE IT!! so many flavas and textrues!

  2. June 13, 2011 3:16 pm

    Snack plates are the best!

    My favorite lunch right now is random salads, that usually contain spinach as the base, other veggies, tuna/eggs/beans for protein and then a grain from supper leftovers with hummus on top!

    My snack plates usually contain apple & pb, veggies, crackers and hummus!

  3. June 13, 2011 3:31 pm

    Love your lunch! I also like snack plates full of veggies and delicious food, yours is just perfect!
    Ana

  4. June 13, 2011 4:02 pm

    Lunch, mixed veggies (onion, zucchini, mushrooms, peppers) and cooked turkey breast sauteed in a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar than wrapped in a big old romaine leaf! You could sub tofu or beans for the turkey if you don’t eat poultry

    Snack; 0% fat Greek yogurt mixed with a little peanut butter and topped with half a banana sliced. Almost like dessert!

    Your hummus looks very yummy! Might have to go make myself some right now…

  5. June 13, 2011 4:35 pm

    My Favorite lunch at the moment is kidney beans and brown rice and veg stirfry. I made lots and I keep reheating it in parts for lunch.
    I love the look of your snack plate. Yum!
    Xo

  6. June 13, 2011 5:16 pm

    Thanks for posting this! This is such a great idea. I now want to try it!

  7. June 13, 2011 5:39 pm

    I love everything that’s on your snack plate, but I’d add some cheese, sliced cucumbers and peanut butter!

  8. June 13, 2011 6:15 pm

    My favorite lunch lately has been tortilla pizzas! It is a bit ridiculous how many days in a row I have eaten that! Lol. Snack plates are the jam! I love carrots, cauliflower, snap peas with hummus. Sometimes I do celery and pb with apples. I always involve a cracker of some kind too! Right now I am loving TJ’s Raisin Rosemary Crisps!

  9. June 13, 2011 7:37 pm

    I’ve been drowning myself in smoothies lately but these snack plates do look tasty. I think I’ll do both tomorrow.

  10. June 13, 2011 7:51 pm

    snack plates are the funnest!!!! i always try and make snack plates ALL the time! my latest obsession is turkey burgers with turnip fries, broccoli, hummus times a million and seaweed snacks hahahae

  11. June 14, 2011 7:04 am

    Looks yummy! I will be trying this ASAP

Trackbacks

  1. Soaking Up Another Day Off « Abz 'n' Oats

Leave a Reply

