Skip to content

Sentimental Already

June 14, 2011

My mom and I were at our gym after work today. I had to get in my New Rules of Lifting workout and she was doing her elliptical thang. When we were standing in the lockerroom she turned to me and said “I guess we won’t be able to do this anymore…”

AHH! Getting sentimental about me moving already. I love my mom.

Once home I decided a protein-packed smoothie was just what my body needed after the weight lifting. Any excuse for a smoothie:)

I made a Very Berry Green Monster using my vanilla protein powder and microwaved a big sweet potato for carb-age.

I spoon-fed myself while reading through my favorite magazine, Whole Living. I just love how positive and uplifting the magazine is. You can’t not feel good after flipping through.

Blog then bed! I have an extra long day tomorrow (7:30am – 7:30pm!) because I’m attending a big conference for my new job. Diving right in!

 

QUESTION:

  • What’s your favorite thing to do with your mom?

I love going to cultural events with my mom. She’s always up for festivals, plays, house tours, and more. I also love that we can go to the gym or even Bikram together!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 8:02 pm

    Perfect post workout meal!

    I love riding my bike with my mom. Not only do we get some exercise in, but it provides for some great chatting time!

  2. June 14, 2011 8:18 pm

    Aww! The time with your family will be so bittersweet! šŸ™‚ My favorite thing to do with my mom is teaching her how to cook healthier meals so that she can continue to do so even when I am not at home. It might not stick but at least the door is open.

  3. June 14, 2011 8:33 pm

    lol… I like it when she buys me stuff lol

    Cheers

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:37 pm

    This is so sweet! I don’t know what I’d do if I lived more than 2hrs away from my mom. I’ve always visited home at least three times a month since I’ve lived on my own.
    Do you know how long you’ll be in TX?

  5. June 14, 2011 8:57 pm

    Aw. It’s so sad that you won’t see your mom as much! šŸ˜¦ My favorite thing to do with my mom is shop, talk, and go to the farmers market. Moms are the best. šŸ™‚

  6. June 14, 2011 9:00 pm

    My mom and I do a lot of things together and I think my favorites include grabbing coffee on Saturday mornings and going to farmer’s markets or antique shops…depending on the weather. šŸ™‚

  7. June 14, 2011 9:09 pm

    I’m so close with my mom, and thankful that I can see her often since I lived away from Dallas for years (and most likely will again…). I love to meet for lunch or head over to her house for a chat, maybe a glass of wine, or just a walk!

  8. June 14, 2011 9:58 pm

    I love going out to eat at cute little restaurants with my mom. I like to take her to places that she wouldn’t go on her own, it’s really nice to show her something that I know she will love. I just love introducing her to new things!

  9. June 14, 2011 10:03 pm

    aww that’s so cute! my favorite thing to do with my mom is watch parks and recreation [the humor is awkward enough that she gets it!] and walk our dogs. it’s gonna be so weird living apart from her and my dad next year!

  10. June 14, 2011 10:28 pm

    I’m so impressed with your Mom! My Mom would never try Bikram with me unfortunately. Our favorite things to do together are probably go on walks and shop. My favorite memory with my Mom is when she came to visit me when I studied abroad in Paris. We spent about 10 days living in the same room, because she stayed at the apartment I lived in with me! Such awesome memories. Love this sweet post!

  11. June 14, 2011 10:28 pm

    I love doing anything with my Mom, and am lucky she only lives a few blocks away! In the summer I like going to the farmers market with her. We haven’t been in awhile but I also loved going to spin class with her, must get her back there!

  12. June 14, 2011 11:45 pm

    Aw that’s great that you go to the gym with your mom! I’m going through those teenage years where you just don’t want to be around your parents too much, but I do like playing card games with her šŸ™‚

    Good luck with your long day tomorrow!

  13. June 15, 2011 7:16 am

    Aw, come on, Mom! šŸ™‚ I hate when I think about sentimental things in regards to my mom. She’s my best friend (is that corny?) I love doing anything with her!

  14. June 15, 2011 8:51 am

    Grocery store shopping and cooking. I absolutely love going to the grocery store – I’m so crazy that before all the Christmas cooking begins, I beg my Momma to wait for me to get home so I can go. haha. But I also love just being in the kitchen with her. Living four hours away from my family is hard – but it makes you really savor the moments you have together.

Leave a Reply

