Skip to content

Strike Two

June 14, 2011

Happy Flag Day!

Something weird was going on yesterday, because according to the comments there were quite a few of us that didn’t wake up like usual in the middle of the night. Don’t worry though, I made up for it with a rather awful night’s sleep last night. My mind was reeling about my apartment-hunting in Dallas and I couldn’t slow it down! When my alarm went off at 5:15 for spin class I knew I could use more rest, but tossing and turning in bed for another hour would have been pointless so I got up and went.

As expected I didn’t have tons of energy for spinning but I pushed through and got in a good workout. I’m going to miss this class when I move!! And since I had to be at work early for a meeting I’m going to have to fit in my New Rules of Lifting workout later on today.

OUTFIT:

This ended up being totally inappropriate and far too happy an outfit for the rainy day we’ve got going on, but maybe I’ll cheer other people up with my bright colors.

Skirt: Old Navy, Shirt: Aerie, Belt: Mom's, Sweater: JCrew Outlet, Shoes: Bakers

FOOD:

Breakfast was overnight oats with almond butter and a strawberry on top. I love using old nut butter jars for the oats – easier to mix around without worry of making a mess! I snapped this pic really quickly before my meeting so it’s blurry, sorry!

 

For lunch I had decided to go back to Blackberry Cafe to get my hands on one of their veggie burgers since they were sold out when I went on Sunday. Unfortunately they were sold out again!  Strike Two. The owner explained to me that their homemade recipe is pretty time intensive and doesn’t keep well, so they don’ t make very many. Those they do make get snatched up early in catering orders, so I’ll have to call ahead if I want to make sure there is one for me.

With all this hype, I’m definitely calling on Thursday and trying one! My boss even wants to try one now.

Since I couldn’t get a veggie burger I went with their veggie wrap with hummus and feta again. It’s delicious too so really not a disappointment at all. I paired it with some carrots I brought from home and had a great lunch.

 

It may be a little costly, but I think I may eat out a little more in the coming month. I’m really going to miss all my favorite spots around here when I move to Dallas so I want to make sure I get my fill.

Back to work!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 1:49 pm

    I think I have the sweater in red!
    I hate waking up in the morning to exercise when all I want to do is sleep, props to you for actually doing it. I can always talk myself out of it if I am tried enough.

  2. June 14, 2011 1:53 pm

    Haha I have the JCrew sweather in pink! It’s a staple at all JCrew outlets. But I can’t believe that cute flouncy skirt is from Old Navy! Pretty sweet 🙂

    Wow that must be a truly amazing burger if it’s sold out that early!

  3. June 14, 2011 2:07 pm

    I had a terrible night’s sleep as well! I hate going to bed when my mind is racing, but it wouldn’t shut up! I was awake every couple of hours–so annoying. I can’t wait to hear about the veggie burger when you actually get a chance to try it; it must be delicious!

  4. June 14, 2011 2:49 pm

    That outfit is TOO CUTE!!! Oh my gosh I love love love that skirt! You look adorable!

  5. June 14, 2011 3:44 pm

    Okay so I’ve been on vacation and haven’t been keeping up. Apartment hunting in Dallas? What’s up?

  6. June 14, 2011 4:03 pm

    I love that floral top! Very cute! Bummer about the veggie burger! At least on Thursday you will know it is super fresh! 🙂 I would do the same thing if I was moving. The bit of extra cost is worth it for local stops that you won’t get to have in Dallas!

  7. danielle permalink
    June 14, 2011 5:40 pm

    i just did my first yoga class in months…hope this is the start of a new habit

  8. June 14, 2011 6:55 pm

    Glad you are back on schedule (wakeups) outfit is absolutely stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Food… Mmmmmm

    Cheers

  9. June 14, 2011 7:42 pm

    great skirt lady! it looks fabulous on you 🙂

    i hateeee going places and not getting what i specifically go there for! it always is such a dissapointment when i get there! BOO! haha but i love that you talk to the owners! maybe they can save you one for next time 😉

Leave a Reply

