Skip to content

Sad News

June 15, 2011

Thank you all for your kind words about my move to Dallas! My program at work really is amazing and provides great opportunities.

Today I got to skip out on my normal job and attend a big Back To School conference with all the district store managers from around the country. Back to School is the busiest time for our stores so everyone gets together ahead of time to talk strategy and learn about new initiatives. It was an awesome way toΒ  meet my own district manager, get to know some of my future peers, and get a head start on some of the information I’ll need to know once I start. It was kind of my “first day on the job”.

I had to be at the conference at 7:30 this morning, but I was able to squeeze in a quick 3.5 mile run around my neighborhood before I left. Always feels good to get my body moving even if it isn’t my normal workout routine.

OUTFIT:

Didn’t really know what was appropriate for a stores conference! Some people were more casual than me, but it’s always good to dress nicer than necessary.

FOOD:

I made myself overnight oats to eat on the way to the conference and brought an apple that I ended up eating on our 10:30 break. It was a good thing too because when lunch finally rolled around at 1pm it had been over 5 1/2 hours since my last real meal!

Lunch was a variety of salads and wraps. No vegetarian protein, which is my usual struggle (have you read my vegetarian’s plea??)Β  but I can’t complain when there were so many vegetables offered!

They sure know how to keep people fed at these meetings because at every break there were tables of food set out. In the afternoon I snacked on chex mix and then finally gave in and had half of a chocolate chip cookie and half of a peanut butter cookie. That might sound reasonable, but these were 100% honestly the size of my head. Everyone was joking that they used a whole batch of dough to make just one cookie!

After a glass of wine at cocktail hour I’m in a bit of a tipsy sugar coma. That sounds like much more fun than it is.

 

SAD NEWS:

I found out that the weekend of the Healthy Living Summit is the same weekend of Texas’ Tax Free weekend. That’s the craziest time in my new job and apparently all managers are put on “lock down” and required to be there. I’d still be in training so there is a chance I might be able to get off, but I really don’t want my first impression with my boss to be asking to leave during a crucial time.

So, as of now, I won’t be able to go to the Healthy Living Summit. If anyone wants to buy my ticket let me know.

I’m super disappointed. This would have been my first conference and chance to meet all of you other amazing bloggers that I chat with on the internet every day. This is kind of my first reality check that my blog is going to go through some major changes once I start my new job, but more on that as I figure out exactly what it means.

 

QUESTION

  • What sacrifices have you had to make due to your job?

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 7:08 pm

    Bummer, about HLS!! But I hope the stores conference got you pumped for your new job, and new adventure! And I suppose it could go either way that you’ll be starting your new gig during one of the *busiest* times of the year!

  2. June 15, 2011 7:11 pm

    Aww, that is sad news about HLS… but there *is* always next year!!! Plus, I’m sure this new job will bring you so much opportunity and new friends! It’s always fun paving your own way in a new city. Plus, Dallas should be great weather (I think? i’m not too good on my TX geography…)

  3. June 15, 2011 7:13 pm

    Oh bummer! 😦 I hope you get to attend a different health/fitness conference sometime soon!

    I’ve started noticing this lack of protein in veggie meals! It really is an issue!!

  4. June 15, 2011 7:13 pm

    for the last two years, i’ve taught gymnastics to six year old girls on saturday mornings… aka, my friday nights ended at like 10 pm (: i’m suchhh a party girl haha

  5. June 15, 2011 7:13 pm

    Aw! I am sorry to hear this! 😦 Hopefully, we’ll get to meet next year. πŸ™‚

  6. June 15, 2011 7:38 pm

    So sad that you have to miss the HLS. 😦
    Sacrifices for me in my job, probably would be purchasing lots more materials with my own money for my classroom due to budget cuts, or super long days for conferences/after school meetings.

  7. June 15, 2011 7:45 pm

    Awwww, that is such sad news!!! I hope you can still go but its definitely understandable if you would have to miss it. I will miss you girl!!!

  8. June 15, 2011 8:37 pm

    Just stumbled across your blog and I love it! I sacrifice a lot of things for work including my blog. I wish I had all the time in the world to dedicate to it. I’m sure you feel the same way sometimes. Good luck and congrats on the new gig!

  9. June 15, 2011 8:45 pm

    What a bummer about HLS! Once I get more comfortable blogging I would love to go to a conference!! Work days like that are crazy. I think they give all of that food to keep people awake! Lol. I’ve sacrificed a normal sleep schedule for my job!

  10. June 15, 2011 9:37 pm

    Hey Clare,

    Sorry to hear about your dilemma with the new job…what a bummer!

    I know that you recently started classes through IIN and I am considering getting a nutrition/wellness certification. I am interested to learn more about the program and why you decided to choose that particular one? Cost, etc.? I would really appreciate any information!!

    Thanks much!

    Have a great evening!

  11. June 15, 2011 10:30 pm

    Such a bummer! I would love to go but don’t think I can afford it 😦 There’s always next year… For both of us!

  12. June 16, 2011 6:47 am

    Aww Clare, so sorry to hear that! I wish I could go too, can’t afford it at this time though. Let’s both plan to go next year πŸ˜€

  13. June 16, 2011 7:28 am

    Atleast you got the day off work! Other than having to talk all day anyway @ the conference…
    cheers

  14. June 16, 2011 7:46 am

    So frustrating when there’s no protein for vegetarians. I just can’t stay full on carbs alone! Sent you an e-mail – let me know if your ticket is still available!

  15. June 16, 2011 7:55 am

    Hi
    Do you still have the ticket, I would like to buy!
    Ana

  16. June 16, 2011 8:54 am

    so sad you won’t be at HLSummit! so sorry!

  17. June 16, 2011 9:41 am

    Oh no! I can’t believe you’re not going to the HLS 😦 But work is definitely more important, especially since you’re just starting your new position. I hope that you’ll be able to make it anyway, or at least next year πŸ™‚

    Btw, nice shoes!!!

  18. June 16, 2011 10:08 am

    Good luck with the new job! Poop about HLS!

Leave a Reply

