Skip to content

The Break In

June 16, 2011

I was lying awake in bed last night, flipping from my right side to my left side and adjusting my pillow to try to get comfortable. My mind was racing with thoughts of where I should live in Dallas and how in the world I was going to convince people to visit me when I’d have to work every weekend. I’d been trying to fall asleep for hours. That’s when I heard the door slam shut.

My eyes flashed open and I sat up a little in bed. Houses make weird noises sometimes, but with my parents out of town I was  more on edge. I waited to see if anything would follow.

Creek Creek Creek someone walked down the hallway. Then click I heard the sound of another door closing. “Oh crap”, I thought. “There is definitely someone in this house, and if I left the back door unlocked my parents are going to kill me”.

I got out of bed and opened my door. Yep, the hallway light was on. “What do I do? No one ever teaches you what to do if someone is breaking into your house when you’re home! What if they have a gun?”

I panicked a little and then a glimmer of hope shot through my mind. “What time is it?” Sometimes my older brother has late-night soccer games and he stops by the house to grab food on the way home. I ran back over to my night stand to check my phone.

10:57. Definitely a possibility.

“John?” I asked in a timid voice, not sure what a robber would do if they heard me.

No answer.

“Johnnn?” I called out with a bit more force.

source

“No it’s me!” My dad said as he walked into my room.

“OH SH*T. Why aren’t you in South Bend?” I asked him, breathing heavily from distress. “It’s Wednesday!” my dad answered. “We aren’t leaving until tomorrow. Your mother and I were just out tonight”.

I fell sideways onto my bed, my heart still beating quickly. “Holy crap I thought someone was breaking into the house!” I told him. “I was freaking out!”

My dad sat on the end of my bed in the dark as I lay there reeling the last 5 minutes over and over in my mind. After a few moments of silence he asked “How was your day?”

At that point the emotion took over and I broke down in tears. “My job is going to suck.” I said. Before he could respond I spewed out, “I’m going to have to work all the time. I already have to cancel my trip to the Healthy Living Summit. And no one is going to be able to visit me because I’ll have to be working every weekend”.

My dad started to say all the right things, but I stubbornly rebuked them convinced that I was right and my life next year would be miserable. I could feel the back of my throat start to burn so I made a point to calm myself down. I lay there in silence and eventually my dad left the room.

I think all that excitement was just what I needed to wear myself out and finally be able to fall into a deep sleep.

*******************************

Lessons Learned:

  • I need to take a chill pill.
  • Sleep makes everything better. I’m actually really excited about the job, it’s just going to be a big adjustment.
  • Lock the door at night.

*****************************

SOO anyway, this morning when I woke up things were much better. After that eventful night I didn’t really think I’d have much stamina at the gym. On the drive over I decided I’d see if I could pull out 3 miles of intervals on the treadmill before switching to the elliptical for a little easy cardio. But then once I got started I ended up running 7 miles of randomness. Sometimes I surprise myself:)

Those seven miles looked like this:

  • 1 mile warm up at 6.6mph (9 minute mile)
  • 2 miles of one minute intervails: 8.5, 6.7, 9.0, 6.7 x4
  • 1 mile cool down at 6.6 mph
  • Increased speed by .1 every half mile for the next 3 miles until I hit 7

After the run I stretched, completed working 1B of the New Rules of Lifting for Women and then did a few planks before showering.

OUTFIT:

I struggle to find things to wear with these grey pants. This tshirt and cardigan combo is kind of a cop out.

BREAKFAST:

Hot oats with chia seeds, protein powder, cinnamon, and banana. I used the last scoop of Valencia PB in the bowl so Oats in a Jar is next!!

I’ve got a veggie burger with my name on it at Blackberry Cafe for lunch:)

QUESTION:

  • Ever dealt with a robbery or break in??

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 11:05 am

    Oh man that’s so scary! I once came home really late at night, my mom wasn’t home, but the front door was wide open. I was so creeped out and worried that someone was still inside. I think as a woman who’s pretty tiny, this kind of stuff is way scarier…

    I’m sure it’s just the stress of the move and going into the unknown that has you so worried. I’m sure as soon as you’re settled, you’ll realize just how exciting the change is 🙂

    And yay! Finally you get to try the burger 🙂 Can’t wait to hear just how awesome it is!

  2. June 16, 2011 11:08 am

    I’m SO terrified of people breaking in…always have been. When I was younger, I made my grandpa install burglar bars on my window and refused to sleep in my own room until they were there. I’m surprised that I haven’t been up all night fearing a break-in since moving in on my own!

  3. June 16, 2011 11:11 am

    I freak out about life decisions all the time. My current one: potentially quitting my job to move to Cleveland to by near my boyfriend. It’s so hard to leave everything you know and love to move somewhere you haven’t been. Look at the bright side, it’s only for a year. One day you will get to tell your kids “So when I lived in Dallas…” it’ll be awesome.
    Those gray pants looks super cute on you, love the green sweater with them.

    Also- enjoy your veggie burger, sounds like an awesome lunch!

  4. June 16, 2011 11:11 am

    No robberies here, sounded like a heart stopping experience though…
    You look hot in that top!
    Texas will all work out… I bet you enjoy it!

    Cheers

  5. June 16, 2011 11:13 am

    Oh my gosh, it’s a good thing I’ve never had a break in, or *thought* someone was breaking in. I’d be on the phone with the police ASAP! I’m sorry about your mini breakdown. I had one myself a few nights ago because I just found out I work weekends too 😦 It’s a total bummer, but I’m sure we’ll both find time to enjoy ourselves and our friends. Don’t fret. Oh and words to live by: everything looks better in the morning 🙂

  6. griffinashkin permalink
    June 16, 2011 11:14 am

    Yes, in South Bend our house was basically gutted. The cops told us “to just buy a gun, boys.” Couldn’t believe it.

  7. June 16, 2011 11:40 am

    yikes–your story had me nervous! glad it was just the parents…ESP bc then you dad was there to listen to you while you vented! no worries–things will be much better than you anticipate, just you wait! and regardless it’ll be a great learning/growing/life skills year, right? 🙂

    question–how long do the lifting workouts take you? i read the book several months ago and got jazzed to start but then we moved houses and i haven’t joined a new gym yet bc i’m liking my current routine and don’t need a gym yet…but thinking about starting soon…

  8. June 16, 2011 11:59 am

    So scary! That’s pretty much my worse fear, and although Billy only goes out of town without me on rare occasion, I ALWAYS assume the robber knows he’s out of town and it’s the perfect opportunity to break in. I’m so glad yours was a false alarm! I have a feeling you are going to love your new job/position here in Dallas once you get into the swing of things. It took me a while to get used to the retail hours at lululemon, but I’m loving it now!

  9. June 16, 2011 11:59 am

    I love those pants!

    And don’t worry everythign will work out in Dallas! I know I love routine and change is scary for me but sometimes its what you need!

    I am so paranoid of break ins and have my doors locked all hours of the day! I have never experienced one though!

  10. June 16, 2011 12:24 pm

    Thank goodness, no! I have had similar scary incidents but luckily it was a similar situation as yours and just family!

    Veggie burger…sounds delish…you will have to let us know what kind! I am a veggie burger fanatic!!

    Love your outfit…you look adorable!

  11. June 16, 2011 12:35 pm

    My twin sister has the spare keys to my apartment and has barged in when I’ve been sleeping and scared the living day lights out of me! So I feel your pain! I keep mace by my bed 🙂 Love your outfit! Green is a great color for you!

  12. June 16, 2011 12:36 pm

    Omigosh that sounds so scary!! Especially after you called out and your Dad didn’t answer! That would have freaked me out too!

    And I’m sorry that you were feeling so down about the job stuff last night- starting a new job in a new city can be so stressful and overwhelming! I totally get like that too when I’m upset and usually am trying to convince my mom that no, I indeed will be miserable. It’s usually only after I take a step back that I become more rational and realize everything will be ok. But I know it is hard but you’ll figure it out and people will come visit you!

    And I think your outfit came together cute- maybe you could do some sort of cobalt blue with the grey too? I see what you mean about it being hard though- because if you put black with it, it might look too going out-y which wouldn’t be work appropriate. I think you did good though 🙂

  13. June 16, 2011 12:46 pm

    I’m in the same boat! My parents are out of town this week and it’s just me and my sister. We’ve both been hearing thumps from the attic and we keep the alarm on like all the time. I wasn’t scared at all until my sister started getting nervous about random noises… My parents will be home tomorrow though, so no more scary nights!

  14. June 16, 2011 1:20 pm

    Thank goodness it wasn’t a real break in! HOW SCARY! 😦
    I’ve never dealt with a break in, but I’m SUPER anxious about being home alone when I’m sleeping…I do a lot of door locking.
    I like the outfit! The bright, summery green works great with the grey pants. 🙂

  15. deb permalink
    June 16, 2011 2:30 pm

    haha dont worry about your move to dallas! if im visiting my roommate there ill def let you know and maybe we can go around the city 🙂 its actually alot of fun!

  16. June 16, 2011 2:33 pm

    I always say, if you have something in your closet or drawer, that doesn’t make you feel absolutely beautiful, then what the hell is it doing there??? IE – the gray pants 🙂

    I’m sorry for your scare! I’m glad morning brought new light and hope for the journey ahead!

  17. June 16, 2011 4:56 pm

    Oh my gosh! That must have been so scary. I haven’t ever had a break in scare but I always have bad dreams about it! I’m a bit nervous to live by myself again! You say that outfit is a cop out but I think it looks awesome! 🙂

  18. June 16, 2011 8:42 pm

    I’ve never had a break in, thank GOD, that must have been so scary!!

    For the record I love those gray pants, they look great on you! My humble suggestion would be some sort of bright white flowy shirt and then maybe a long necklace for some bling. I’m a big fan of wearing neutral colors and dressing them up with accessories.

Leave a Reply

