Skip to content

Underwhelming

June 16, 2011

I called ahead today. At 10am I was on the phone asking them to hold two of their veggie burgers for me to pick up at lunch. My boss overheard me talking about these time-intensive veggie burgers that have to be ordered ahead and decided she wanted to try one too.

At 12:30 I was on my way to Blackberry Cafe.

They knew what I was there for, but I still had about a 15 minute wait as they prepared the meals. I sampled a bit of their homemade Spicy Tomato and Zucchini soup and decided to get a cup of it as a side.

And finally it was ready. “Two Veggie Burgers” the man announced, handing me my to-go bag. And here she is in all her glory:

Not very impressive, huh?

At first glance I thought it was a pre-made frozen patty and I got kind of irritated.

 

I pulled a piece off and noticed the chunks of bean and corn in it and was reassured that they did actually make it themselves. Plus the owner said “tell me what you think!” as I walked out. He wouldn’t do that unless he was proud of his work.

 

It was underwhelming. A little greasy, but tasted good. It came with a slice of tomato and some lettuce on flimsy wheat bread, but I was expecting a thick, moist (sorry) burger on a toasted bun that would wow me. I was kind of sad to present it to my boss as she agreed with my sentiments.

One redeeming factor of the meal? The tomato and zucchini soup.

This gazpacho style soup is a homemade recipe from the owner’s grandmother. It has chunks of zucchini in a tomato broth that has a definite kick. The salty feta on top is a great cut to the spice.

 

The soup I would order again. The veggie burger? Not so much. I still love Blackberry Cafe, I’ll just stick to their falafel or hummus wrap next time I go back.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 2:10 pm

    Mmm the soup sounds great! Gazpacho is my fave, especially in the summer! Sorry about the burger, but they can always make improvements!

  2. June 16, 2011 2:33 pm

    GRR thats so annoying about the burger! he defs didnt make it if ihe says tell me what u think! 😛

  3. June 16, 2011 2:41 pm

    What a disappointment! That wheat bread is a little pathetic for a restaurant to serve a burger on…maybe a deli sandwich, but not a burger!! But the soup looks yummy.

  4. squigglefloey permalink
    June 16, 2011 2:54 pm

    Geez, your day is just not cutting you a break is it?
    I say, just take a few deeps breaths and remember that most of it is stress and anxiety, and that you’ll be fine. And that you have your family behind you, your bloggie friends always here to hear you out, and a wonderful month ahead of you 🙂

  5. June 16, 2011 3:07 pm

    I’m bummed the burger wasn’t as good as your were hoping, this is always so disappointing. At least the soup was good, I never thought of putting feta on soup before, I might have to try that now!

  6. June 16, 2011 3:40 pm

    Ah boo, i’m sad to hear the burger didn’t live up to it’s hype!!! that stinks!

    and in regards to your other posts, i’m glad you’re feeling better about work and such today. just relaxing…or running like a cheetah helps out too! 😀

  7. June 16, 2011 3:41 pm

    Aw that’s really disappointing. Especially since you were anticipating it so much! But it’s ok. I’m sure the falafels more than make up for it 🙂

  8. June 16, 2011 4:32 pm

    Oh darn! What a disappointment. I almost guarantee that it would have tasted better had it had a better presentation. That bread just looks boring!

  9. Joyce permalink
    June 16, 2011 5:47 pm

    That burger looks so similar to the Morningstar Spicy Black Bean burger…
    http://www.morningstarfarms.com/products_spicy-black-bean-veggie-burgers.aspx

    • June 17, 2011 10:32 am

      I think you are right Joyce. It’s a dead ringer.

  10. June 16, 2011 7:39 pm

    Such a bummer for having to wait so long! At least the gazpacho was good! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Option Number Two « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

