Skip to content

BEST. MORNING. EVER.

June 17, 2011

My morning keeps getting better and better.

Actually the goodness began last night when one of my best friends from high school surprised me with a phone call. She lives in NYC and we don’t chat often, so it was awesome to catch up.

Meg & Me, 4th of July a LONG time ago

The morning started out absolutely normal – woke up 5 minutes before my alarm, threw on my spandex, drove to yoga. Bikram went well and I ended class feeling stretched and cleansed. In the lockerroom afterward a new girl introduced herself to me cheerily and we chatted for a few minutes about different types of yoga classes and what to eat so that we have energy for early classes but don’t feel sick.

Excited about making a new friend I walked towards the exit, where an older man from class was waiting for me. We’d never spoken before, but I guess he had overheard me telling someone else that I was moving to Dallas. He stopped me, asked if I was the one moving to work in retail, and then gifted me with two books on managing people.

He told me that he had run many stores in the past and that these books would help me be successful. He even wrote me some personal tips in one of them.

 

I seriously could not get over how kind it was of this man to bring these for me when we don’t even know each other! It totally made my day and I called my mom just to share my joy. Suddently I felt an urge to perform a random act of kindness for someone else so that they could feel just as great as I did.

But the good morning doesn’t end there. As I was getting dressed in the gym lockerroom, a woman showed me where she hides her good hairdryer and told me I could use it anytime I wanted. No more trying not to burn my hair with the 20 year old ones mounted to the walls!

OUTFIT:

Apparently I missed the memo to wear my Cardinals jersey to work today, since my company organized a trip to the game tonight. I’m not going because I have tons of IIN work to get done and I’m already planning to go to tomorrow’s game.

 

Once I was ready for work I decided to walk across the street to a little coffee shop to grab a decaf iced coffee. While waiting in line I noticed they have real fruit smoothies AND lara bars on the menu. And they serve breakfast all day. It’s probably a good thing I didn’t know about that for the past year…

BREAKFAST:

The best breakfast for the best morning! Overnight Oats In a Jar (OOIAJ).

 

My TJ’s Valencia Peanut Butter jar had about a TBSP of peanut butter left in the bottom, so I made my usual overnight oats and poured them in. It is so much fun to scrape the peanut butter off the sides while scooping out the sweet creamy yogurt. I’m still working on getting every last bit  of PB out:)

 

And now for the best news of all!! I had emailed my district manager yesterday to confirm that the third weekend in August was Tax Free weekend and that I’d need to work. I just wanted to make sure before I sold my HLS ticket. Well, this morning I had an email from him saying that the store will have plenty of staff that weekend and it would be okay for me to take off.

I’M GOING TO THE HEALTHY LIVING SUMMIT AGAIN!!

Now I just have to book flights and find roommates!

I feel like I’m bragging, but truly I feel so blessed and lucky to have such great things happening to me today. I’m going to try to spread the love by doing nice things for other people and I’d encourage you all to do the same!

  • How are you going to make someone else happy today?

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 10:09 am

    Yay! It seems like it’s your day today :). My boyfriend and I are going to make dinner together tonight. It might seem like it’s a small thing, but we usually go out to eat since we both still live at home, and he’s the one who pays since I am recently graduated and unemployed. So, I’m pretty sure he will be happy since he will be saving money, and we will be doing something out of the ordinary together.

  2. June 17, 2011 10:16 am

    I’m still trying to figure out details regarding HLS – we should connect! 🙂

  3. June 17, 2011 10:37 am

    The story about the gentleman passing those books onto you was the sweetest…there are kind, genuine souls here! So glad it made your day, it brought a smile to my face! Happy Friday!

  4. June 17, 2011 11:03 am

    Hearing stories like that make my heart swell! There are good people in the world 🙂

  5. June 17, 2011 11:29 am

    Aw, I’m glad you are having a good day! After yesterday it seems like you were due 🙂 The books were such a thoughtful thing from that man!

  6. June 17, 2011 11:45 am

    I make people happy by being myself 🙂 haha

    Cheers

  7. June 17, 2011 11:45 am

    What an incredible morning! It’s so exciting how something so little can TOTALLY change the tone of your day! I’m glad you’re feeling so great, it’s fantastic (:

  8. Danielle permalink
    June 17, 2011 11:54 am

    WOW! That’s awesome! It’s good to hear you’ve had such a great day so far, esp since things have been a bit stressful recently.

    I have a question for you- how much time do you spend blogging each day (including pics & everything)? I have a blog too but I don’t post as much as I’d like bc in my mind I just feel like it’s so time intensive. I notice that you post twice a day though so maybe I’m just building it up to be more than it is? Thanks 🙂

  9. June 17, 2011 1:17 pm

    That is a good morning! Random acts of kindness are awesome!

  10. June 17, 2011 1:44 pm

    WOW that is totally an awesome morning!! Proof that karma is real and that good things come to those who wait 🙂 YAY for HLS- I’m so excited to meet you there!!

  11. June 17, 2011 2:09 pm

    Before I can make anyone else happy today I need to make myself happy…it’s been that kind of day. boohizzle.

    that is an awesome gift though!!

  12. 2blu2btru permalink
    June 17, 2011 2:15 pm

    Congrats on your awesome morning! How am I going to make someone’s day happier? I’m going to send off Father’s Day cards to some awesome “additional Dads” I have lying around, and I’m going to give my college bond cousins some graduation money.

  13. June 17, 2011 4:03 pm

    First personal note is right on. Both notes will definitely bring you up the ladder.

  14. June 17, 2011 4:30 pm

    What an amazing morning! 🙂 That is so exciting that you get to go to HLS again!

  15. June 18, 2011 8:18 am

    Wow you had such an awesome morning! I love those days when the most unexpectedly great things happen, and you end up feeling invincible!

    I’m so happy that you can come to HLS!!!!! I can’t wait to meet you and all of the other awesome bloggers that I admire 🙂

  16. June 20, 2011 9:24 am

    love your tank in that pic–where’s it from?

  17. June 20, 2011 10:50 am

    I adore your tank! And yay for awesome mornings. Hope this Monday is just as fabulous.

Leave a Reply

