Skip to content

Sweet Potato + Almond Butter

June 18, 2011

Hey everyone! Check out my guest post over at The Foodie Diaries today! It’s something I wish I had read before I started life in the real world.

source

*********************

I ate a wee bit too much of Mexican Hot Chocolate Granola while getting some work done last night, so I was more than ready for my workout this morning. I hadn’t really decided what I wanted to do today, but when I woke up at 8:15 after 9 1/2 hours of sleep (!!) to pouring rain I knew I’d be driving to the gym. There was a 9:30am spin class with a teacher I’d never had before so I decided to try that.

I got to the gym early so I ran 4 miles on the treadmill before class. Spinning was shorter than the usual one I go to (another reason for the run beforehand) and had a totally different feel. The teacher used a microphone, played pop music, and centered the class around four big hills. I really liked her energy and motivation throughout class, but the four identical hills got a little monotonous. My usual spin teacher isn’t as exuberant, but the class is more varied with jumps, hills, sprints etc. I think it’ll be good to incorporate both classes in when I can!

After spinning I walked over to the weight room to complete workout 1A of the New Rules of Lifting for Women. This is my fifth time through which means I’m now doing three sets of 10 reps as opposed to two sets of more reps. The step-ups were a struggle after working my legs on the bike!

Even though I was hungry, I decided I couldn’t wait any longer to get my sweaty workout clothes off my body. I hopped in the shower really quickly before making myself a Very Berry Green Monster (with protein powder for post-workout muscle building!) and sweet potato with almond butter.

I’d seen the sweet potato and almond butter combo on Meghann’s blog a bunch but for some reason never gave it a try. Well today I was craving a sweet potato but knew I needed a bit more sustenance after that workout, so it seemed like the perfect time.

YUM. The two really do go together well. The creamy sticky almond butter against the melt in your mouth potato. The slight saltiness against the naturally sweet vegetable. MMM! And so filling with the complex carbs and healthy fats! I will definitely be making this again.

I’m off to run some errands, then a wedding, graduation party, and baseball game! Busy fun day.

Have a great Saturday!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 12:15 pm

    damn!! thats such a long workout!! love your meal afterwards!

  2. June 18, 2011 12:35 pm

    Mm I’m sure that sweet potato and AB is amazing. Way better than regular potatoes and regular butter!

  3. June 18, 2011 5:30 pm

    I think I need to try sweet potato and almond butter…yum 🙂

  4. June 18, 2011 6:10 pm

    I went to a class today and was there early so hoped on the elliptical for a bit before hand, but by the end of the class I was pooped! You must have been exhausted after treadmill, spinning, and weights! Looks like a yummy meal afterwords though 🙂

  5. June 18, 2011 7:06 pm

    Sweet potato and almond butter is like the best combo ever! 😛

  6. Kate permalink
    June 18, 2011 7:06 pm

    Just wondering why you ran 4 miles AND did spin….thats like two workouts in one day….are you just trying to be in super good shape or lose weight?

  7. June 18, 2011 7:31 pm

    I love the idea of the almond butter on the sweet potato. Will have to try that in the near future.
    ….and wow! you work out so much. It’s motivating me to get off the couch 🙂

  8. tickledtofu permalink
    June 18, 2011 11:31 pm

    That looks SO delicious!! And what an intense workout!

  9. June 19, 2011 7:39 am

    Wow, girl. What a great day for workouts! I bet you’re feeling so strong! 🙂

    I neeeeed to get some sweet potatoes. It’s been weeks since I’ve had them in my kitchen, and yours looks great with almond butter!!

  10. thebeautynotebooks permalink
    June 19, 2011 10:41 pm

    Definitely want to try sweet potato + almond butter together!

  11. June 20, 2011 4:46 am

    Excellent workout!!!!!

    Cheers

  12. Nancy permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:43 pm

    I too am wondering why you did such an intense work out. You definitely don’t need to lose any weight. Why are you pushing yourself so hard? It seems unnecessary and like you’re heading down a dangerous path.

    • June 20, 2011 1:50 pm

      Hi Nancy!
      I appreciate your concern. Actually, that workout was not very intense for me. Normally my Saturday run would be about 8 miles, so a 4 mile run and a short spin class isn’t out of the ordinary. Coming off of training for a marathon, my body is used to intensity and I really thrive on it. I truly love exercise and I eat enough to make up for it. I’ve actually been gaining weight lately so weight loss is not a concern.
      Everyone’s definition of normal is different!
      Clare

Trackbacks

  1. A Look At Young Clare « Fitting It All In
  2. Making Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

