Skip to content

Dinner With Dad

June 20, 2011

To celebrate Father’s Day, my family (minus my little brother who’s away for an internship) went out to dinner. My dad chose Milagro Modern Mexican, a relatively new restaurant near our home in Webster Groves. Milagro has all of your traditional Mexican favorites but also serves more upscale twists like duck tostaditas, salmon grilled in a banana leaf, and mushroom enchiladas.

The last time I ate at Milagro was with my parents on Mardi Gras. Remember that? I don’t. But my friend Jillian just posted a picture of me from that day. I’m eating an apple in a bar.

Anyway. Back to last night. We were brought chips and salsa to start and my dad ordered some guacamole.

I tried to resist, but once I got started on the chips there was no stopping me! I had my fair share and split my bites between the salsa and the guac. The guac was homemade with chunks of vegetables and was SO delicious!

For my entrée I ordered the Shrimp Diablo Salad.

It was perfect! The shrimp were slightly spicy, the pineapple added a wonderful sweetness, and the vinaigrette was fresh and light. Just the type of meal I needed after a big appetizer of chips.

The highlight of the meal? The tiny spoon that came with my brother’s tacos. I forced him to pose in about 10 different positions to try to capture how little and cute this spoon was and he wasn’t really thrilled…

My mom wouldn’t let me steal the spoon. No fun.

Everyone really enjoyed their dinners and it was great to spend some time with the family and celebrate my Dad. He’s an alright guy;) Happy Father’s Day Dad!!

Milagro Modern Mexican on Urbanspoon

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 9:42 am

    I wish I had the control to order a salad at a Mexican place – enchiladas and quesadillas are always too enticing, but that salad sounds delicious!

  2. June 20, 2011 9:52 am

    Aaahhh…I’ve been saying I’m going to make veggie enchiladas for ages after going to the most amazing Mexican place a few months ago…I have a feeling the mushroom ones would have been to die for.

  3. June 20, 2011 9:59 am

    hahahaha “my mom wouldn’t let me steal the spoon.” what up best quote evaaa

    glad you had so much fun with the fam!

  4. June 20, 2011 10:16 am

    Haha, sounds like a lovely dinner

    Exellent fathers day

    cheers

  5. June 20, 2011 10:22 am

    Haa great picture of you with an apple at the bar! Moderation in action!

  6. June 20, 2011 10:26 am

    I take apples to bars too! NBD.

  7. June 20, 2011 10:27 am

    I’m all about tiny eating utensils! Seriously though, never try to resist fresh guac. What’s the point of life without it? 🙂

  8. June 20, 2011 10:59 am

    I’m drooling over that guacamole! I don’t eat it very often, because I really can’t resist it, especially when it’s really chunky with big pieces of avocado in it. Your brother sounds like mine. He’ll put up with my shenanigans to an extent, but once he’s had enough, it’s done!

  9. June 20, 2011 12:10 pm

    Mmm. Chunky guacamole is the best! 🙂

  10. June 20, 2011 12:30 pm

    I could swim in guacamole. It has to be good, homemade guac, though! None of that runny, store-bought stuff! Looks like a fun dinner with your family!

  11. Kate permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:31 pm

    that guac looks sooo good. so does your salad! Glad you had fun on Father’s day!!

  12. June 20, 2011 1:43 pm

    That sounds like a fun family dinner! And omigosh, I can NEVER resist the chips. Sometimes I’ll try and limit the amount that I have, but the next thing I know, I’ve finished a whole basket! Mexican food is dangerous for that very reason! And omg that little spoon- how funny! How random that it came with his tacos!

  13. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 20, 2011 1:49 pm

    haha sounds like a very festive dinner 🙂 that spoon is ridiculous!!

  14. squigglefloey permalink
    June 20, 2011 2:57 pm

    Hahaha. If my brother had a little spoon like that he definitely would notttt use it, lolzzz.
    You have the most gorgeous eyes! 🙂 Glad your family had a wonderful Daddy’s Day!

  15. June 20, 2011 3:56 pm

    Hahahahaha, the mardi gras pic, hahahahah.

Leave a Reply

