Skip to content

Incorporating Passions into Work

June 21, 2011

Sounds like the answer is a resounding YES on the workout gloves! I like the idea of feeling a little goofy in the weight room if it means I won’t have gross hands the rest of the time. Maybe I’ll have to get a cute girly pair like these?

source

*****************************

Switching gears a little bit. a lot.

Because of my move to Dallas, I recently had my final review of my current position at work. In the meeting was someone from HR, my boss, my mentor, and my “buddy” who is a few steps ahead of me in the program.

The meeting began by going through my Individual Development Plan. I created my IDP at the beginning of my job and called out two areas that I really wanted to focus on growing in – Taking Initiative and Marketing. Throughout the year I participated in various activities, seminars, and projects in those areas to help me achieve my goal.

Going through the IDP, I was a bit nervous to talk about my blogger outreach project and enrolling in the Institute of Integrative Nutrition. Neither of these are part of my current job description so I felt like they could be perceived as taking away from my work. I didn’t want my boss to think that I was working on other things instead of my “real” job.

I was so thrilled when everyone in the meeting was excited for me to take on these projects. I told them how I loved being able to incorporate my outside interests into work with my blogger outreach project  and how I hope to be able to use my IIN certification to start healthy living intiatives within the company.

They told me how valuable it was to have a worker that keeps themselves well-rounded and participates in activities outside of their job. They said that even though these projects didn’t fall into the context of my current role, the skills I would learn and develop through them would assist me in all areas of my work. They loved that I took the intiative to begin these things.

source

It is so amazing to be encouraged to develop my passions. I am so happy that my company and my program wants me to find ways to incorporate my interests into my job and that they value having activities outside of work. As I move through my future positions I will have to figure out the best way to merge my outside life and work, but I now have the confidence to do that without hesistation.

Maybe I should tell them about the blog too?

Question:

  • How do you incorporate your passions into your daily job? (Are you lucky enough that blogging IS your job??)
  • Does your company value bringing your interests into the organization?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 1:27 pm

    Unfortunately, I don’t feel like I am valued enough at my job. That’s why I’m job hunting right now.
    It is definitely good to hear that there are places out there that value their employees so much!

  2. June 21, 2011 1:29 pm

    I love how much your company seems to care about their employees, beyond their productivity at work. I don’t have a full time job right now, but when I do, I hope to have the ability to do what I love as well!

  3. June 21, 2011 1:33 pm

    Am I behind?! I had no idea you were moving (or have already moved to dallas)! That’s exciting. YOu realize I am only about 3 hours away from Dallas. Meetup someday?!

  4. June 21, 2011 3:00 pm

    Your job sounds absolutely incredible!! I guess i had thought you already told them about your job…. I say go for it!

  5. June 21, 2011 3:54 pm

    Nice gloves! You will be even hotter in the weight room!!!
    Your job does sound interesting. I am sure you will really move up the ladder quickly!!

    Cheers

  6. June 21, 2011 5:02 pm

    Those gloves are super cute! What a great reaction from your company! I love it! I am passionate about living a healthy lifestyle and working in the hospital I feel like I can educate patients on things they can do to improve their health. I would love to eventually find a holistic office that utilizes nurses there and do that kind of work! 🙂

  7. June 21, 2011 5:17 pm

    Just found your blog, yay :)! I recently started one (as in last week) and I’m loving it! Can’t wait to read more from you!

  8. June 21, 2011 10:00 pm

    I absolutely love my job. It plays to my strengths in every way. Lots of the people I work with are healthy/active, so we talk plenty about our races, workouts, meals, etc. They also read my blog 😉

  9. June 21, 2011 10:08 pm

    Right now, I’m still looking for a job. But I hope that I can incorporate my passions into a job someday!

  10. June 21, 2011 10:22 pm

    I always always always choose a job that will make me happy. then, i never have to work a day in my life because i’m so happy and having fun!

  11. June 21, 2011 11:03 pm

    As someone who has had many jobs in her twenties, I think that the most important thing is being able to combine your passions with your job! It’s a blessing to be able to do something you’re passionate about, and I’m so glad you are getting to incorporate your passions into your work!

  12. June 22, 2011 6:32 am

    My last job was MISERABLE… I was at my parents house and they had a mug that said ” do what you love, love what you do” I quit a week later .. ok so i didnt quit JUST because of the mug BUT the slogan totally made me think.. LOVE IT!
    Your very lucky to have found a job that encourages you!

Trackbacks

  1. Taking The Initiative Activities

Leave a Reply

