Skip to content

It’s Gotten To That Point…

June 21, 2011

Good morning!

I was in a deep sleep when my alarm went off this morning. I love that I was sleeping so well, but it’s hard to wake up from that! Nothing like getting on a spin bike to wake you up! After a more-packed-than-usual spin class I hit the weight room for New Rules Of Lifting working 1B. This was my first time doing three sets instead of two on this workout and I’m really trying to increase my weights to make progress. I can tell I’m getting stronger and I think it’s gotten to that point.

That point where I need to consider getting weight-lifting gloves.

I’m starting to avoid using even heavier weights because I am on the verge of blistering. But weight-lifting gloves? Really? Now I’m that girl?

Weight-lifting gloves kind of scream “manly” to me. I know that plenty of women use them at that they are really helpful if you’re going to be doing a serious weight training routine…I just don’t know if I’m ready to take that step yet.

  • Thoughts on girls and weight lifting gloves?

 

OUTFIT:

 

Casual and comfy today. I think I’m going to need to get more pants / crops of this style when I start working as a store manager. We can’t wear jeans or shorts, but have to be comfortable enough to help customers and unpack boxes all day! I’m taking suggestions.

 

BREAKFAST:

Protein-packed overnight oats for my post “I’m-so-hardcore-I-need-weight-lifting-gloves” workout.

 

Time to work work work! My mom and I are going to Dallas tomorrow to find an apartment so I have to help out the team as much as I can on the days I’m here this week. Adios!

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 9:58 am

    Good luck apartment hunting! 🙂 It can be so fun but so overwhelming all at the same time!

  2. June 21, 2011 9:59 am

    I have gloves for lifting weights! I don’t think of them as that intense, just as a necessity if you lift weights even somewhat regularly. Also, who’s looking?

  3. June 21, 2011 10:11 am

    I used my cycling gloves today when I did my weight work out…it didn’t feel so “manly” 🙂 It really helped with grip and I avoided those calluses!

  4. June 21, 2011 10:16 am

    I’m a weakling and don’t really lift weights but my friends that do justify those hard-earned calluses with extra manicures! 🙂 I’m all for some extra pampering – you totally earned it!

    PS- Where are those crops from? J.Crew? I’ve been looking for a pair and those are adorable!

  5. June 21, 2011 10:19 am

    I lifted last night and even though it was my first time in a few weeks, I feel two little baby callouses on my palms. I say go for the gloves – it may make ya feel like a dude when you wear them but it sure beats man hands the rest of the time!

  6. June 21, 2011 10:27 am

    Oh yea, back when I had a gym membership and Body Pump, my hands also got to that point of callusing and blistering. And Body Pump bars aren’t even that rough! I’m also pretty hesitant to getting gloves, since I’d feel so out of place wearing them. Like, “who am I?”

    But, if you are stronger than me, you can show off how hardcore you are!!

    I just started waitressing, and my favorite outfit to wear are black tights and a loose fitting top!

  7. June 21, 2011 10:55 am

    I can relate on the need for workout gloves…I just can’t breakdown and do it! When I was training for Miss Illinois, I did wear them because I didn’t want to callus my hands, and the weights were heavy and ripping my hands up!!

    That breakfast looks delish!!

  8. June 21, 2011 11:31 am

    Ah! I have calluses on my hands, too. It’s horrible. I have weight lifting gloves but always forget them.

  9. June 21, 2011 11:33 am

    Love your blog, Clare! Definitely become one of “those girls” and get the weightlifting gloves. It’s so worth it!! Your hands will thank you later!

  10. June 21, 2011 11:37 am

    I got weight lifting gloves pretty soon after I started. I don’t find them manly at all probably due to the fact that they are pink/ white and really small to fit my wimpy hands. Maybe look around in a sports store and try some on, your hands will thank you to get away blister free.
    Plus , what’s wrong with looking a little a little badass? ;-D

  11. June 21, 2011 11:37 am

    Clare- will you link how to make breakfast cookie and overnight oats please 🙂

  12. June 21, 2011 12:11 pm

    Wow, weight-lifting gloves!? You are intense haha. I wish I could get to the point where I felt I needed gloves. I need to push myself more with weights. And apartment hunting in your new city sounds like fun! Good luck!!

  13. June 21, 2011 12:29 pm

    Cute outfit! Love the shoes!

  14. Julia permalink
    June 21, 2011 12:41 pm

    Great job on the weights! I really need to work on my strength training, and you’re giving me some motivation =)

  15. June 21, 2011 12:46 pm

    Ouch- I’m sorry about your hands! And I have no idea about the world of weight lifting gloves- but maybe they make some cute pairs? And I love your pants! I feel like Gap has some cute styles like that too…? Or maybe you could wear comfy dresses? They look professional but would be cool in the Texas heat! Good luck apartment hunting!!!

  16. June 21, 2011 12:56 pm

    Weight lifting gloves? Definitely! I won two pairs (so I can alternate when they need to be washed; mine start to stink after a week or so…).

    They not only reduce the callouses, they help you get a grip when your hands are sweaty. Plus, I find that they let me loosen my grip on the weights, reducing ‘grip fatigue’ (you know when your wrists are forearms get tired from gripping the weights and poop out before your biceps/back/chest or shoulders).

    Absolutely worth the $15 or so and you’ll look oh so cool!

  17. June 21, 2011 1:01 pm

    This reminds me that I need to bring gloves to the gym! I always forget and then curse myself when I lift! hahah

  18. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 21, 2011 1:22 pm

    aww your poor hands!! I do not have that problem–five pound weights aren’t as rough on the hands I guess haha

  19. squigglefloey permalink
    June 21, 2011 2:46 pm

    Well, I’ve never worn weight lifting gloves because I’ve never weight-lifted 😦 haha. But if something is giving you blisters you might as well cover them up to protect your skin from getting too rough.
    Hope you have a wonderful time exploring parts of your new city this wknd! You need to let us know what you think of it afterwards!

  20. June 21, 2011 3:55 pm

    You’re getting muscle marks on your hands haha
    Snazzy outfit!!!
    Cheers

  21. June 21, 2011 4:33 pm

    I think weight lifting gloves are fine for ladies! Save those hands! 🙂 Good luck on your apartment hunt!

Leave a Reply

