Skip to content

Apartment Hunters Dallas

June 22, 2011

Hey everyone! I’ve had such a whirlwind day in Dallas and I absolutely love the city! I’ve already chosen an apartment to live in, but I thought it’d be fun to do a little House Hunters style guessing game first:)

We looked at a total of 5 apartments, but I had narrowed it down to three that my mom and I contemplated over lunch. All three are in the popular Uptown area of Dallas which is about a 25 minute drive to work.

1. Apartment One: Efficiency at Post Uptown Village

This studio apartment is located in Post Uptown Village. Post Uptown Village is composed of a few different buildings in a really cute tree-lined cobblestone area. It is just down the street from a great part of Uptown called State Thomas where lots of the fun bars are located.

This apartment was on the fourth floor with no stairs, but was really close to the highway I would hop on to take to work. Not in this exact building, but in one down the street there was a nice pool and deck area as well as a small workout room.

The apartment itself had a little nook that was natural to make into the “bedroom” and would have been perfect with just a set of shelving or a screen to divide it. There was tons of open space and the kitchen was rather large. Despite being an efficiency, I absolutely loved how bright and open it felt.

The other downsides to this efficiency were that there was no outdoor space (like a deck or balcony) and that the closet, while big, was shared with the water heater and felt sort of odd. It was also the most expensive of the three, but only by $65 dollars.

 

Apartment Two: Split Level at Gables at the Katy Trail

Gables at the Katy Trail is on the other side of Uptown, not as close to the State Thomas area. It’s about 3 -4 blocks from the popular McKinney avenue where many of the restaurants and bars are and backs up to the Katy Trail. The split level option here was very interesting – a one bedroom/on bathroom with entry on the third floor. The kitchen and living space were right when you walk in, and then a staircase led you upstairs to the bedroom and bathroom.

Having the bedroom and bathroom on a separate floor really made this space feel homey. But apparently the AC unit is on the ground floor so it can get expensive to keep it cold up there. I really loved that this apartment had a balcony overlooking the community pool.


This community had a very minimal workout center in the basement right next to the laundry area. It would definitely only be a back-up and not reliable for daily workouts. It was the middle price of the three apartments.

 

Apartment Three: Efficiency at Gables at the Katy Trail

Located in the same development as the previous split-level, this efficiency was the cheapest of the three by over $100. It was also the smallest. The kitchen and bathroom were plenty big and nice, but the living space itself was tight. It would have been difficult to fit a full-sized bed and a couch inside.

This apartment also featured a balcony overlooking the pool. It got me thinking about how much space I truly needed and what that extra money was worth to me. $100 is a hefty portion of utility bills, could cover a gym membership, or is nice spending money.

So which one did I choose? Here’s an overview:

Apartment One:

  • Great Location near the bars
  • Bright, big efficiency layout
  • Community pool and workout room next door
  • Right by the highway to get to work
  • Fourth floor, no elevator
  • Most expensive by $65

Apartment Two:

  • Split-level layout
  • 3-4 blocks from the main street of Uptown
  • Backs up to the Katy Trail
  • Balcony overlooking the pool
  • Workout center isn’t sufficient
  • Might be more expensive to air condition
  • Middle price of the three

Apartment Three:

  • Smallest efficiency
  • 3-4 blocks from the main street of Uptown
  • Backs up to the Katy Trail
  • Kitchen and Bathroom are plenty big
  • Balcony overlooking the pool
  • Workout center isn’t sufficient
  • Cheapest by over $100

 

I’ll reveal my final decision, but I’m curious to hear which one YOU think I chose! Let’s play Apartment Hunters!

 

 

 

 

35 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 10:55 pm

    Apartment two?!

  2. June 22, 2011 11:01 pm

    I think you picked number 1! 🙂

  3. June 22, 2011 11:07 pm

    I’m going with Apartment 2!

  4. June 22, 2011 11:20 pm

    I think you picked #1!

  5. Paige permalink
    June 22, 2011 11:29 pm

    I am going to guess number 2!

  6. squigglefloey permalink
    June 23, 2011 3:05 am

    I’d go with you picking #1 🙂

  7. June 23, 2011 5:40 am

    My guess is 2!

  8. June 23, 2011 5:54 am

    Haha, LOVE the Househunters addition! Can’t wait to hear which one you picked!!!!

  9. June 23, 2011 6:19 am

    I love house hunters! 🙂 I’m excited to see what you pick!

  10. June 23, 2011 6:30 am

    I love apartment #2! I don’t have any clue which one you might have picked, you’re harder to figure out than the people on HH. Usually they go with the cheapest so I will say you picked #3. I’m glad you liked the city, it makes the move so much easier!

  11. June 23, 2011 6:52 am

    Id say #3… Save the gambino and enjoy more fine meals and wine… As long as you are downtown… All 3 were beautiful. Think of all that extra cleaning with number#2

    Also, go for the one with the pool! ha

    cheers

  12. June 23, 2011 7:32 am

    I’d say you picked #1! Exercise room, good location! Can’t wait to see what you picked!

  13. June 23, 2011 7:38 am

    I’m gonna go with number 1? 🙂

  14. PAM permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:41 am

    I would say #3…You would be saving money each month and you won’t be in Dallas forever.

  15. June 23, 2011 7:41 am

    I love how everyone loves House Hunters! I’m going to go with number 2, but they all seem good to me!

  16. June 23, 2011 7:48 am

    Oh I love House Hunters! This is a fun game. I’m going with Number 2.

  17. Danielle permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:52 am

    I was going to pick #2 for sure, but then I read #3 and I’m torn. Either way you’d prob end up joining another gym so I guess it depends if you want more space or not? Final answer, #2.

  18. June 23, 2011 8:22 am

    I like #2 myself, but I have a feeling you rolled with #3?

  19. Kate permalink
    June 23, 2011 8:32 am

    I am going with apartment #1 🙂 Can’t wait to hear which one you picked!

  20. June 23, 2011 8:37 am

    I’m going to guess that you picked #2. Excited to hear!

  21. June 23, 2011 9:25 am

    I think you picked number 1……..or number 3, but i think number 1

  22. doglover permalink
    June 23, 2011 10:01 am

    APARTMENT TWO FOR SURE!! YOU can use the pool for exercise and you are going to want a pool in Dallas!!! It gets miserable there..

    P.s. I hope KELLY chimes in and offers her opinion on where she thinks you should live!!!!!

    • doglover permalink
      June 23, 2011 10:09 am

      p.s. the split level will be much better for entertaining that way people won’t be in your bedroom and it will be nice to have the individual spaces

  23. June 23, 2011 10:28 am

    omg! all the apartments look absolutely GREAT! Im motivated to move myself…LOL..Whichever one you choose im sure is amazing. I like the one with the bookshelve in the livingroom 🙂

  24. June 23, 2011 11:15 am

    Hmmm, I’m going to say #2. A homey feel is important, plus the balcony overlooking the pool is very nice. Plus, I always like to have the bedroom on a different floor…perhaps going back to the homey feeling 🙂 I’m curious to see which one YOU chose! You will make any place fabulous!

  25. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:36 am

    how fun! so glad you found a place! I would guess #2?

  26. June 23, 2011 11:58 am

    I am watching house hunters as I read this! Ha! Love it. I think 2…. Although I am torn between it and 1.

  27. June 23, 2011 12:17 pm

    I love apartment 2, but I think you picked 3!!! Or at least that’s what I would do if I were in your shoes!!!

    I’m just glad to here that you found an apartment 🙂 Congrats!

  28. June 23, 2011 12:38 pm

    #1!!

  29. June 23, 2011 12:38 pm

    Ohh all of the apartments look like great options! I’m so happy to hear that you are having a good experience! I think you picked #2!

  30. June 23, 2011 1:02 pm

    I LOVE House Hunters! I’m going to say Apartment…. 2! 🙂

  31. Kadywood permalink
    June 23, 2011 1:21 pm

    Save money on housing if you’re not that into entertaining. Splurge elsewhere. I think you picked no. 3.

  32. Erin permalink
    June 24, 2011 8:02 pm

    Did you have a realtor you liked or did you find the apartments on your own? I am not finding anything I like yet 😦

Trackbacks

  1. Apartment Hunters Dallas « Fitting It All In | Dallas Apartments
  2. Dallas Day One « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

