Skip to content

Dallas Day Two

June 24, 2011

Though we were only in Dallas for about 36 hours, it feels like we were there for a week! Since we got the apartment part taken care of pretty quickly we had all of Thursday to hang out and experience the city. What better way way to get to know my new city than to take a yoga class there?

My mom and I ate a quick breakfast in the hotel before heading to Bikram Yoga Dallas.

We were curious as to how Bikram in Dallas would compare to our studio in St. Louis. Class was great and I’m going to love it there, but there were some differences:

It was hot, but not nearly as hot as class can get in St. Louis

  • Floors were wood instead of carpet
  • Much less strict – people had sweat towels, came into class late, and moved around a lot
  • Windows in the back of the studio so you can see people in the lobby walking around

I love starting my day with Bikram! Especially when it’s with my mom.

We asked for late check-out of the hotel so we would have time to go back and shower. Once cleaned up, we headed to Zoe’s to meet a blog reader for lunch.

Allie emailed me when I posted about moving to Dallas and has been SO helpful about answering questions for me. It also turns out she works for a company headquartered at Notre Dame (where I went to college) and is friends with people I know from school. She’s also a runner and is living about a 1/2 mile away from my new apartment. Too small of a world! I’m so so happy to have new friends in Dallas.

For lunch I ordered the hummus and salad combo. It was a greek salad (no olives) and a side of pita and hummus. Delicious! I ate it all.

And because I was informed through Twitter that Zoe’s has the BEST chocolate cake ever, my mom insisted on ordering a slice. She had about a bite and I ended up eating the entire piece. Didn’t need it, but it was pretty good! It’s all in the icing.

After lunch my mom got in the car with no real set plans. We drove down past SMU and saw tons of beautiful houses and also checked out the options for Catholic Churches. Next we drove through the design district before parking near the JFK memorial. We found a Cowboy store that we HAD to go in to buy some goofy souvenirs. I need to get some cowboy boots!

Then we spent some time wandering the JFK assassination site. I didn’t know a whole lot about it, but my mom remembers the day it happened so it was neat to see. I love nerdy historical stuff, especially when there are conspiracy theories involved. Here’s the famous “Grassy Knoll” and the street JFK was driving down when he was shot.

Our next stop was the Dallas Farmer’s Market. We kind of happened upon it accidentally, but I was totally impressed with its size. It’s going to be SO fun to go there for fresh tamales and locally grown fresh produce. ❤ free samples.

After the Farmer’s Market we headed East towards White Rock Lake. (Does this not seem like the longest day ever??) This beautiful lake has 11 1/2 miles of running trails along the outside, plenty of picnic areas and places to rent kayaks. The houses overlooking it are massive and stunning! My goal is to find a boy that belongs to the sailing club. That sounds nice.

After a drive along the perimeter we had just enough to time to stop at Whole Foods to pick up dinner before heading to the airport. Whole Foods was my mom’s suggestion so that we didn’t have to deal with airport food. Is she not the best?? I got a mix of curried tofu, spicy slaw, regular slaw, cowboy caviar, and marinated mushrooms. Oh, and some m&ms for dessert:)

And then somehow we ended up back in the St. Louis airport where we started from just the day before. We did SO much in our short trip to Dallas, and I am so grateful to have gotten to see the city before I move. I fell in love with it and am very excited about spending a year there. Come visit!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2011 1:52 pm

    Seriously loving your blog! I think you’ll have a blast in Dallas!

  2. Emily permalink
    June 24, 2011 1:55 pm

    There’s a boot outlet in Fort Worth — Justin, Tony Lama and other brands at discounted rates. I’d suggest going there first before paying full price elsewhere. They have a nice selection. Shepler’s in Arlington is an exceptional choice, too.

  3. June 24, 2011 2:20 pm

    Love the dress! Where is it from?

  4. June 24, 2011 2:25 pm

    Dallas looks great – a permanent farmers market? Excellent!

  5. June 24, 2011 2:35 pm

    You are going to have so much fun in Dallas! I LOVE Zoe’s–I got their Greek salad all the time when I lived in SC, and I brought their salad dressing and seasoning mix with me to Michigan. 🙂

  6. June 24, 2011 2:42 pm

    looks like you’re right at home lady! so much fun that you met a reader and now A NEW FRIEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!! see! you’re going to do juuuuuuust fine there 🙂

  7. June 24, 2011 3:22 pm

    I’m so glad I found your blog! It’s awesome 🙂 You’re dress is super cute!

  8. Lilly Clark permalink
    June 24, 2011 3:26 pm

    As far as Catholic Churches: I worked (sang) at St. Thomas Aquinas on Kenwood in-between Abrams and Skillman, near Mockingbird and absolutely adored that church. Christ the King is closer to SMU and is a little more high-class, but they are both wonderful churches. I would definitely recommend St. Thomas Aquinas, though! They are wonderful and the priest is so sweet (and oddly enough sounds exactly like John Malcovich…)!!!

    And as far as gyms go: SMU has a fabulous gym, that members of the public can join. That said, you might not want to be working out around all those obnoxious college kids who treat the gym like a social club. 🙂

  9. squigglefloey permalink
    June 24, 2011 3:38 pm

    Oh man it looks like it was hot over there! Good thing you have adorable clothes 🙂

  10. Courtney @ I CAN DO THIS permalink
    June 24, 2011 5:54 pm

    Wow, girl – you packed a lot in!
    I decided to go “home” in December to run the White Rock Marathon (which goes around the lake trail that you saw). We’ll have to get together when I’m there!

  11. June 24, 2011 9:31 pm

    Ah, you are going to have such a great time discovering dallas, i can feel it!!!

  12. June 24, 2011 11:38 pm

    I would have been all over those 3 dollar ranier cherries! Lol! Yum 🙂

  13. June 25, 2011 5:05 pm

    It’s fun to see all the places you went in Dallas! You hit up a bunch of great restaurants. Let me know if you ever want suggestions for other great places. 🙂

  14. June 27, 2011 4:44 am

    Looks like a really cool place! You will love it

    cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Dallas Day Two | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

