Skip to content

Decorating Begins

June 25, 2011

Today revolved all around decorating my new Dallas apartment. Now that I actually know where I’m living I’m on a tight schedule to get furniture in time for the moving companies to ship it down there.

Before the shopping began, I went to an incredibly energetic morning Bikram class. The teacher put a lot of syrup on her french toast this morning:) I haven’t gone on Saturday in almost a year and the 8am class was fantastic.

Post yoga breakfast was 2 Vans Waffles topped with plain Greek yogurt and a banana peanut flour sauce.

Then I got started. My plan of attack: go see what my aunt has in her basement, then hit the department stores to see what kind of deals they were having, and finish at Homegoods to find some cute accessories.

My aunt has a great little table with blue painted chairs as well as an end table that I think I’m going to sand and paint.

I didn’t have a ton of luck at JCPenny and Macy’s, but there is lots of stuff on their websites that I think I’m going to order. Aside from a mattress, I found this Tommy Hilfiger bed set that I like. Girly:)

And maybe this bedside table I found at HomeGoods if the color matches.

As for a couch, I found a great deal on this full size sofa sleeper at JCPenny. I’ll probably get it in a neutral color and buy some fun pillows to spice it up. I also have one of my grandma’s old chairs that I can take.

I still need to think about a dresser, coffee table, and TV stand. I have a few things leftover from college that I can make use of, but I think there will be lots of shopping trips once I get down to Dallas and figure out how I’m going to use the space. I’m picturing it all in my head and it’s starting to feel like home!

**************************

In the middle of my shopping trip I stopped at Crazy Bowls and Wraps for lunch. I was really craving salmon so I strayed from my usual order and got brown rice, veggies, salmon and jalepeno cilantro sauce.

And Pretzel M&Ms from Target for dessert:)

 

My aunt and I just decided to see Midnight in Paris in a little bit. She asked what I was going to do for dinner and I said that since I wasn’t very hungry right now I’d probably just bring something with me. She was confused. “How do you bring dinner to a movie with you?”

“Prepare dinner. Insert into purse. Walk into theater”.

I guess I’m a little too comfortable doing this…I don’t even think twice! But I packed up two pita halves filled with hummus, spinach, tomato and avocado to have during previews. I’ll probably get a beer too. It is Saturday afterall.

Have a great night!

  • This is my first time decorating an apartment and buying furniture. What tips do you have for me? Any styling suggestions??

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 7:01 pm

    Those options look cute! When I moved to Boston after college my parents bought all of my furniture for me from Pottery Barn as a gift. I ended up having a lot of problems with them (two of the pieces came broken and I had to resend them back). I’ve had better luck with Crate and Barrel. Now if I need anything I try to mix in less expensive items from Ikea with nicer ones (Restoration Hardware has great stuff!).

  2. June 25, 2011 7:20 pm

    I have those chairs! aww, don’t paint them 😦 We get some many compliments on the color!!

  3. June 25, 2011 7:23 pm

    I love that bed set! It’s so pretty :).

  4. June 25, 2011 8:26 pm

    I love the bed spread.. and think the bed side table would be soo cute.. so keeping my fingers crossed that they match!!

  5. June 25, 2011 8:30 pm

    Oh my gosh, I would give anything to go back and re-live the experience of moving into my first apartment. For me, it’s all about Ikea. Their stuff is hip, cheap, and cute.

  6. indecisiveathlete permalink
    June 25, 2011 8:33 pm

    That bed spread is so cute! I’m about to start looking for stuff for my first apartment too 🙂

  7. danielle permalink
    June 25, 2011 8:40 pm

    http://www.livingyogadallas.com/events

  8. runningperspective permalink
    June 25, 2011 8:52 pm

    such cute things!!!
    and hahahah such a good idea bringing that dinner to the movies! love itt!

  9. squigglefloey permalink
    June 25, 2011 9:00 pm

    Why is there not a crazy bowls and wraps in Los Angeles! haha.
    And props to you for bringing your whole dinner to the movies! It’s so dark in there the only things I’m successful at eating are typical movie snacks 😛 The beer is good though. You don’t need to see to drink that.

  10. June 25, 2011 9:04 pm

    I really like the bed spread. Totally girly, and pink, and totally me. Haha. My advice would be just to start out small with buying things and see how it goes. You don’t need all of your furniture/decor at once so don’t overwhelm yourself 🙂

  11. June 25, 2011 9:26 pm

    I love all the things you picked out!
    My advice is to consider the size of the furniture in comparison to the room size itself. Also, think about how you’ll get it in your apartment. At our last apartment, there was this horrible wall that got in the way of us moving practically anything inside. My husband and his friends literally had to hoist it up onto the balcony using ropes to get it inside the apartment! We also had to use ropes to lower it to the ground when we moved out!

    Most importantly, pick a budget and stick with it! It’s so easy to get excited and over spend!

  12. June 25, 2011 11:29 pm

    That bedding set is really cute! 🙂 My boyfriend and I usually smuggle in a sandwich of some kind too. I’ve even taken green monsters a few times. lol.

  13. June 26, 2011 8:56 am

    Did you make the banana peanut flour sauce yourself? Can you post the recipe? Thanks 🙂

  14. Katy permalink
    June 26, 2011 9:56 am

    Do you have an Ikea near you? I got a great coffee table, tv stand, and chair there for my living room. Plus they have tons of storage ideas!.

  15. June 26, 2011 10:59 am

    ummm…yum. lovvvvvvve pretzel m&m’s

  16. June 26, 2011 11:43 am

    Love decorating! Pottery Barn and Anthropologie always have really good sales for home stuff too!

    • June 26, 2011 1:15 pm

      PS I just noticed – we had almost the same breakfast! One of my faaaavorites! If it wasn’t so messy I think I’d eat it daily.

  17. June 26, 2011 11:55 am

    I like that comforter! The only thing I’ve ever decorated is a dorm room, so that’s not quite like decorating an apartment. Looks like you have a lot of good options though. I think it’ll be fun to decorate my own place one day :).

  18. joanna permalink
    June 26, 2011 2:41 pm

    Just a word of warning: I went through 3 sets of TH sheets, and they all had extreme fading when washed, even with “natural” laundry soap. It sucks because they have some really cute bedding!

  19. June 26, 2011 5:46 pm

    craig’s list was my way to go because i moved into my apt right when college was getting out for the summer.

  20. June 27, 2011 4:40 am

    Awesome! gREAT Furniture!!!

    Cheers

Trackbacks

  1. First Ever St. Louis Blogger Meet Up! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

