Skip to content

How To: Overnight Oats

June 29, 2011

What a hot bowl of oatmeal is to me in the winter, overnight oats are in the summer. I’m not sure who originally thought of the idea, though Angela from Oh She Glows has made her multitude of Vegan Overnight Oat recipes famous. Angela uses just almond milk, oats, and chia seeds to achieve a gelled texture that is fully vegan. Some people use a mixture of milk and yogurt in theirs, but in mine? Just yogurt.

Here’s what you’ll need:

My Version of Overnight Oats Serves One

  • 1/3 cup raw old fashion oats
  • 1 container Oikos 0% plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 packet stevia
  • cinnamon
  • splash vanilla
  • 1/2 banana

First place oats and chia seeds in a bowl or jar. I usually make mine in a jar because I think they are fun to eat out of, but I’m going to use a bowl today so you can easily see the process.

Next scoop in the Greek yogurt and top with 1/2 packet stevia, hefty does of cinnamon, and a small splash of vanilla.

Stir this all up with a spoon, adding a splash of water (~2 tablespoons?) to thin it out. The mixture will thicken up overnight so don’t worry if it’s a little thin.

Next thinly slice half a banana on top.

Mix in the bananas, and technically you’re finished!

Well…after you wipe down the sides of your bowl with you’re finger because you’re just a liiiittle bit of a perfectionist.

At this point you can add any toppings you want or just place it in the fridge and wait until the morning. I’ve added nuts, cereal, granola and more, but my favorites are almond butter and fresh berries.

A scoop of almond butter gets dropped on top along with some berries, at which point you freak out if you’re lucky enough to realize your jar is ready for Overnight Oats IN A JAR next!

That’s not part of the recipe. That’s just me being a foodie nerd.

The final step in the recipe is to put your mixture in the refrigerator to cool and thicken overnight. If you just have 30 minutes or a few hours that’s okay too, but you might not want to add as much water.

In the morning you have a grab and go breakfast waiting for you! The yogurt softens the raw oats and becomes super creamy and dense. This is a sweet, protein-packed, incredibly delicious way to eat your oats in the summer.

Enjoy!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 2:20 pm

    I love overnight oats! I actually make mine in a mason jar and do: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk, sprinkle of chia seeds, peanut butter and 1 tbsp of dark cocoa powder. It’s like dessert for breakfast. Then I almost always add banana before I eat it! I’ll have to try it with vanilla and cinnamon, that sounds divine!

  2. June 29, 2011 3:07 pm

    I love your how-tos 🙂 They keep things simple and easy!

  3. June 29, 2011 3:38 pm

    Ohh I’m going to have to try making overnight oats your way! When I’ve had them before I just didn’t like them, but I have never used yogurt before! I’m not a big banana fan though- do you think I can omit? Or is it crucial for the consistency?

  4. Peanut Butter Bandit permalink
    June 29, 2011 3:39 pm

    Yummy! I really like your recent breakfast tutorials! 🙂

  5. June 29, 2011 4:53 pm

    I’m going to have to try making them with yogurt like you do! I usually just do almond milk, banana, oats as the standards and then add in a bunch of other things. I think the times I’ve tried it with yogurt I haven’t added water, so that may help! I have a big container of Fage from Costco, so I may try this out tomorrow!

  6. June 29, 2011 8:57 pm

    I love overnight oats! After discovering them a few months ago, I have been completely hooked! I have never tried the yogurt method though : )

  7. June 29, 2011 11:18 pm

    Yum! I need to try adding vanilla extract to my overnight oats! That sounds awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Overnight Oats…In A Jar! « Fitting It All In

Leave a Reply

