Skip to content

Whole Wheat Banana Waffles For One

March 20, 2011

Today was the most beautiful Sunday on the face of the earth. It was 80 and sunny – the type of day where it should be illegal to stay inside. I got to spend a few hours this afternoon reading a magazine on my patio and even got some color on my chest! It’s days like today that make me think I should move somewhere where it’s warm year round. Have you checked out the “Cawfee Talk” on Julie’s post? I ask about climate and happiness there.

****

I had waffles on the brain for breakfast. I’m a huge fan of Vans frozen waffles, but I have been itching to use our real waffle maker. I had a super ripe banana to use and so ended up creating quite a delicious and healthy recipe for one.

Whole Wheat Banana Waffles

Vegan. Serves One

  • 1/3 C Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (could use any flour)
  • 2 T quick oats
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t stevia (use more for a sweeter waffle)
  • 1 t chia seeds + 3 t warm water
  • 1/2 ripe banana
  • 1/3 C soy milk
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Start my combining the chia seeds with 3 teaspoons of warm water to form a chia egg. Next combine dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ingredients in another.

dry

wet

Now add the wet to dry, mix to form a thick batter, and smell the deliciousness wafting through your kitchen.

Now spread the batter on a greased waffle maker and wait til the light goes off!

Perfection.

I topped my waffle with a sauce made of the other half the ripe banana, 1T maple syrup, and a wee bit of water warmed up in the microwave.

MMmm!  A really simple, healthy basic waffle recipe. It wasn’t super sweet so it was perfect for any additional toppings you might have. The heartiness of the whole wheat flour and oats definitely amped up the filling factor. I actually ended up tearing it into fourths and eating it with my hands:)

****

The rest of the day included Church, grocery shopping, magazine reading, buying 3 awesome pairs of Naturalizer spring shoes, a deep tissue massage with my BFF gay massage therapist, Tom, (seriously, would it be weird if I asked him to hang out?), and outfit planning for the week.

Oh and eating. I snacked all day on a muffin, leftover asparagus crescent wraps, veggies and hummus, brown bread, tortilla chips, starburst, and tons of melon. A long drawn out lunch I suppose…

****

I was undecided when it came time for dinner, but had bookmarked one of Evan’s recipes for Cannellini Beans with Kale and Walnuts. He said it was part of his healthy eating plan leading up to his marathon, so I figured I should be eating it too! I changed the recipe by adding baby portabello mushrooms, using only one can of beans, adding some vegetable broth, and using pine nuts instead of walnuts.

Cooking mushrooms in olive oil…

Added the kale and some veggie broth…

Added the beans and then the pine nuts, lemon juice, salt and pepper…

I served mine over a bed of brown rice. The flavors were really simple. The comfort that comes from a clean, nutritious meal like this reminds me of the grain bowls I love so much. Complex sauces and ingredient combinations aren’t always better!

****

I just had a sandwich thin with almond butter and two supercharge mes for dessert. I need to get those out of this house FAST! But my theory for getting things out of the house is “the quicker I eat them, the quicker they’re gone” :).

Notre Dame plays at 8:40. I am going to be a GONER…no way I’ll stay awake for that whole game! I’ll just dream them to victory.

  • Have you been following the NCAA tournament? Who do you have winning it all?

I of course have my Irish winning, but my brackets are SUCH a mess. I feel like I picked all the wrong upsets!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    March 20, 2011 7:29 pm

    That waffle looks great! I don’t have a waffle iron–maybe I will try it as a pancake recipe! I’ve been following the tourney a bit–I have Duke vs. Kansas in the Championship with Duke taking it all.

  2. Lauren permalink
    March 20, 2011 7:31 pm

    There is nothing like homemade waffles. I remember in college, we had a waffle station open at every meal. The smell of waffles cooking was so overpowering. I think I definitely ate one too many waffles in my college years but it really does bring me back.

  3. Laura permalink
    March 20, 2011 7:34 pm

    Mmmm, that’s a delicious day 🙂 You should post pix of your new shoes!!

  4. March 20, 2011 7:52 pm

    Love the waffle! I’m home alone a lot so I’m always excited to see a recipe for 1!!

  5. Shells permalink
    March 20, 2011 8:01 pm

    I’ve got UNC taking it all, but I’m hoping they play Kansas in the final! Just caught the Arizona-Texas game. Wow…. It was exciting!

  6. March 20, 2011 8:02 pm

    Those waffles look mouth-watering. Definitely a perfect weekend breakfast.
    I love the addition of mushrooms in the recipe!

  7. stephanie permalink
    March 20, 2011 8:13 pm

    Subbing to the blog!

  8. Kelsey @ Unmitigated Grub permalink
    March 20, 2011 8:28 pm

    That dinner looks so clean and delicious! Yum! Sadly my alma mater is out of the dance as of today (Michigan). Boo. And my bracket is a LOST CAUSE. But I will be rooting for Notre Dame tonight as my great-grandpa played for Notre Dame; it holds a special place in my heart. 🙂

  9. March 20, 2011 9:02 pm

    That sounds like such a fun day. Of course any day that involves a massage is automatically a great one to me. That dinner looks so wonderful. I’m with you, I love simple meals. I’ve never been much of a dressing/sauce person at all! It makes going out to eat hard sometimes.

  10. March 20, 2011 10:03 pm

    Those waffles look amazing!!

  11. March 20, 2011 11:33 pm

    I love whole wheat recipes for one ( I need them in my white lovin fam!)
    I was cheering for Syracuse and Michigan, unfortunately:(

  12. March 21, 2011 5:13 am

    Love the waffles! I’ve been obsessed with them lately. And yes, my hands help me eat mine, too 😛 Hey, I never claimed to be ladylike.
    So jealous of your gorgeous weather!! Send it this way, please?

  13. March 21, 2011 7:03 am

    I love making “real” waffles–I find it so gratifying!

  14. March 21, 2011 7:45 am

    YUM! I’ve never made home-made waffles. I just use boxed stuff. I think I should change that 😉

  15. movesnmunchies permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:54 am

    i loved your cawfee tawk question!! AND I LOVE WAFFLES! ihavent had one in a solid 6 years!!! crazy i know! i guess im lazy when it comes to cleaning the waffle maker…

  16. March 21, 2011 8:24 am

    that waffle looks wonderfuL! I had a sweet socca this morning and it was just like a pancake 🙂

  17. March 21, 2011 8:36 am

    Agh, I totally share your theory of “the quicker I eat them, the quicker they are gone.” I’m trying that theory on my pumpkin quinoa muffins right now.

  18. Melissa @ HerGreenLife permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:30 pm

    We always make a full recipe of waffles (or pancakes or whatever) and then freeze what we don’t eat. You get the goodness of homemade with the convenience of frozen! Just thaw overnight in the fridge, or stick it in the microwave for 10-12 seconds to thaw, then pop the waffle in the toaster for a quick, delicious breakfast.

    For added convenience when making waffles or pancakes from scratch, you can make your own mix ahead of time with the flour, oats, baking soda and/or powder. I use a recipe from the “Whole Foods for the Whole Family” cookbook. You make one baking mix, and then add varying amounts of egg, milk, oil, etc. to make pancakes, waffles, and even coffee cake.

  19. March 21, 2011 4:02 pm

    i tried to make banana waffles yesterday and failed miserably! but i also didn’t smash them and just cut them up…probably the culprit when it started to burn on the waffle pan!

Trackbacks

  1. wiaw: weekend waffles. « Of Cookies & Carrots

Leave a comment