Skip to content

Weeknight Out

April 28, 2011

Have you checked out my guest post on MizFit today? It’s on how running changed my eating. Head on over!

*****************************

So last night there was no post from me again. I decided to do this crazy thing where I hang out with a friend instead of gluing myself to my computer for the evening. Insane, I know. My friend Zach bribed me with the prospect of a run after work, but the rain foiled those plans. (pretty sure he planned it that way). Instead we went over to the house he just bought, drank red wine, made pizza, and discussed what colors he was going to paint his walls.

My slice did not have bacon bits.

This morning I went to the gym for a 6 mile run. Now that my marathon training is over I have to really pump myself up to run anything more than 3 miles in the morning. But I had my mind set on it and felt great afterward. Oh and I saw Hanson’s new music video on VH1 while I was running and I really like it. No shame.

After the run I stretched and foam rolled my hammys, did some abs, and finished with some leg exercises.

OUTFIT:

It was actually sunny this morning so I figured a spring-y skirt was appropriate. It’s supposed to rain tonight though, of course. I’ll take what I can get.

Sweater: Old Navy, Shirt: J Crew, Skirt: J Crew Outlet, Belt: Mom's, Shoes: from work

 

BREAKFAST:

Whenever I’m tight on time at night, oatmeal is what I prep for breakfast. It’s so quick just to toss some oats, chia seeds, and cinnamon into a container and then make it at work the next day. All I had to add was a scoop of peanut butter and some banana. You can see how I make my oats here.

 

Have a great Thursday everyone!

QUESTION:

  • How often do you make week-night plans?

I rarely do. I like to get home, make dinner, and relax before my early bedtime. But it’s a nice change to do something on occasion!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 10:16 am

    I almost never have weeknight plans. My kids go to bed by 8:30, so I really should try to get out every now and then to meet up with a friend. Being social is healthy!

  2. April 28, 2011 10:26 am

    I rarely make plans during the week. I’m like you, I just want to take the dog on her walk, make dinner, catch up on DVR, and read blogs. Sometimes it’s good to have a yoga/dinner date with a friend, but I like to be home before 9.

  3. April 28, 2011 10:28 am

    Thanks for the recipe on making outs. You make it seem so simple! I’m looking forward to trying your technique at work in the near future.
    PS: Supposed to rain in NY as well later on today 😦 oh well!

  4. April 28, 2011 10:28 am

    That skirt is so adorable! That green color is a favorite of mine and its a great length!
    I agree with you, I rarely go out during the week (if ever) but it is nice to change it up a bit, good for you for doing that 🙂
    It’s something I definitely need to work on. I fear breaking away from my routine and comfort zone but after I go out, I never regret it! I need to remember that when I am feeling anxious about the occasional outing during the week

  5. April 28, 2011 10:28 am

    oats*

  6. April 28, 2011 10:37 am

    Cute outfit, girl! Love that skirt.

    I tutor 2 nights a week, so on the non-tutoring nights, I usually try not to make plans, so that I can enjoy some evening time with my husband! Sometimes (like tonight), I make plans with a girl friend to go the gym and then out for froyo (makes total sense), but I mostly am a weeknight homebody!
    That was wordy. sorry! 🙂

  7. April 28, 2011 10:42 am

    I rarely make plans. I get home after 7 every night, so it’s hard. Sometimes we will do dinner with our neighbors at one of our houses, but even then, by the time you cook, eat, talk, get home, it’s after 10!

  8. April 28, 2011 10:47 am

    You know whats depressing? I knew that skirt was J.Crew before I even read the caption…you know you spend too much time in that store when…

  9. April 28, 2011 11:17 am

    Rarely! Between hitting the gym or running, making supper, having some TV time with my husband and blog reading I don’t have an extra time! If we do have week night plans they are usually made in advance and then I switch my run/workout to the AM before work.

  10. April 28, 2011 11:47 am

    haha love that you abandoned the blog to hang out with your friend! I’m with you; I rarely go out on weeknights. I like to just work out, cook, relax, blog. Which makes if fun when I do have weeknight plans!

  11. April 28, 2011 11:55 am

    I rarely have weeknight plans because I’m slightly grandma-ish, and I’m okay with that. Also, I’m not “off” until 9:30 or 10, most nights. And let’s be serious, I’m not going out that late on a Tuesday 😉

  12. applesnoats permalink
    April 28, 2011 12:05 pm

    just downloaded the new Hanson song yesterday!:)
    and i love the skirt

  13. atastelife permalink
    April 28, 2011 1:09 pm

    Rarely. I’m such a Grandma. haha.

  14. April 28, 2011 2:32 pm

    LOVE THOSE SHOES! and the whole outfit. can i have your closet?

  15. Abby permalink
    April 28, 2011 2:54 pm

    That skirt is adorable! 🙂 Your guest post was also great!

  16. Kristin Brænne permalink
    April 28, 2011 3:20 pm

    ★★★★★

  17. April 28, 2011 4:25 pm

    So glad I’m not the only one who really enjoys going home after work, spending some quality alone time and just plain relaxing. I prefer to be social on the weekends, but every now and then it’s nice to go out on a week night 🙂

  18. April 28, 2011 8:09 pm

    I rarely make weeknight plans unless my friends and I are cramming for a test! I like to come home from practice, make dinner, shower, and chillax! I like making plans for the weekend since it doesn’t matter how late I’m out and I can always make up for it by sleeping in the next day.

  19. April 28, 2011 10:18 pm

    You always have the cutest spring outfits 🙂 And I hardly ever go out on a weekday lol I’m such an old lady, I just like relaxing at home

  20. April 28, 2011 10:44 pm

    Loving your outfit – adorable! 🙂

Leave a comment